La Fine - Montauk

3.9
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
154 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
La Fine is a family style, Italian influenced restaurant that brings the taste of home to Long Islands East End. Our inspired menu is comprised of classic Italian dishes as well as chef favorites. Our made-to-order dishes and celebrated recipes provide our guests with an authentic dining experience in a relaxed environment. Our seasonal menu utilizes Montauk’s vast array of local fisheries and farmers. Inspired by farm-fresh meat, fish and vegetables, La Fine is a dining experience like no other. Our blend of Italian artistry and impeccable service makes us your prime destination for your culinary delights. For more information about dining with us or hosting an event, please feel free to give us a call!

Special Offers

Wine Down Wednesdays

50% off selected bottles, 50% off selected wines by the glass

Terms and Conditions:

Valid For: 1 - 20 people

Starts: 3 July 2019

Ends: 4 July 2118

Availability: Wed 17:00-21:45

What 154 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
3.8
Food
3.9
Service
4.2
Ambience
3.8
Value
Noise · Quiet
43% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
C
New York Area
42 reviews
Dined on 18 September 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 1

I made a reservation for September 18 on Open Table. When we arrives d at the restaurant there was a sign at the entrance saying that it is closed weekdays. We were left searching for a restaurant. We went home and had sandwiches for dinner. OPPEN TABLE NEEDS TO DO BETTER!!!

j
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on 5 September 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Wonderful service. Very attentive and friendly. Food and cocktails were delicious. We had the meatball appetizer, eggplant/rigatoni and chicken Marsala.

ML
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 1

Insanely overpriced considering the level of food and service offered. Food was bad to passable at best. I have never been served a "crispy" salmon so small for a dinner entree. 3oz at best before cooking...and crispy must mean Burn and not edible in Montauk. Bill came out to over $300 for below average food. Service was not good, we were rushed from beginning to end until my wife had to use her Mom voice and tell the waiter to stop rushing us. Its a shame for such a beautiful place.

LM
New York Area
62 reviews
Dined on 30 August 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Dinner and service both outstanding. Excellent mussels, seared tuna and salmon. Outdoor seating and atmosphere were also excellent.

SK
1 review
Dined on 27 August 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 2Ambience 4

Beautiful setting, food not great...keep coming back every year because love atmosphere but food always dissapoints

A
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

Unfortunately it was a little cold the day we went so we stayed inside. However, loved looking out into the patio area. Everyone enjoyed the meal and the service for the breakfast.

R
Naples
5 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We decided to try La Fine again because we hadnt been to Montauk Manor in many years and we werent disappointed.
The waitress Victoria was very knowledgeable of all items on the menu, helped us with our selections and the appetizer and meals were delicious. It just happened to be Wine down Wednesday and all glasses and bottles of wine were half price.
We will return on our next trip, you should try it!
Thanks for a wonderful evening Victoria!

H
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 2Ambience 4

Terrible food. Baked clams inedible. Pasta sauce was awful.
Pretty setting. They should hire a decent chef.

N
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on 21 July 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 1

When arrived music in dining area was so loud we asked the waiter to turn it down. Saw the bartender snicker when waiter informed him. Tirned it down relictantly from a 10 to a 7. Waiter was too attenttive with no other diners present. Food was good.

P
New York Area
30 reviews
Dined on 15 July 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Service was great, it wasn't a busy night. My husband and I went for a quiet dinner, there was a table next to us of about 15 with 5-6 kids running around at 9:00 pm. Was not what we were expecting. I would try it again, the food was delicious..

HS
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

This was my third visit. I am a Montauk resident and almost never dine out in Montauk: everything is too crowded and over priced. So when I DO want to eat out La Fine is the choice. The food fits perfectly with my cravings: clams, clams, and vegetables, the ambience is unique, the service charming, and rarely is it jammed with noisy tourists like the other restaurants.

SC
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 1Ambience 5

Slow poor service, meatballs weren’t cooked through.

LR
Miami
13 reviews
Dined on 10 July 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 1Ambience 3

There were three people running the restaurant. A chef and two other guys who served as waiters and one of them was also the
bartender. They spent more time hovering over their computer trying to figure things out rather than serving the clients. The salad had wilted and brown lettuce. The chicken Parmesan was acceptable.
They had Chicken Scarpariello on the menu. I don’t know what it was but it was anything but Chicken Scarpariello.
Would not return to this restaurant again until at least next year when it might be a different restaurant or they have different staff.

F
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 2Ambience 4

Very over priced for dinner and breakfast. Service was polite however very scatterbrained. Entree was delivered to table but place settings were missing. Waited an additional 10 minutes before waitress addresses problem. Breakfast for 3 adults consisting of oatmeal, English muffins, scrambled eggs, yogurt parfait and 3 small pancakes was $85.00. Oatmeal was $11!!

LK
1 review
Dined on 25 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The restaurant was beautiful and quiet. Our waiter was very courteous and polite. The food was absolutely outstanding. My husband and I loved everything about your restaurant. We will be back and will tell everyone we know who are visiting Montauk to try your restaurant

PA
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 24 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Coconut martinis are delish!

MO
New York Area
7 reviews
Dined on 21 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We loved La Fine! Best calamari and baked clams we’ve ever had. Everything was delicious. Drinks were amazing. And everyone there was really nice. Will definitely be back again!

BL
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 15 June 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Lovely as usual. Too much food! I had Chicken Scarpiello and is was not over spiced. My husband had the chicken marsala. He thoroughly enjoyed it. The wines are pricey (welcome to Montauk). $16 for a glass of Chardonnay.

La Fine - Montauk
Responded on 20 June 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback! We took your comments to our marketing team and decided to start a "Wine Down Wednesday". Now you can enjoy a dinner at La Fine with a glass or bottle of wine at a decreased price! Please let us know when you will be back at La Fine and we'll make sure your experience is even more memorable. Please send an email to our info page so we can make sure that you are a part of it!

Report
P
New York Area
25 reviews
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Lovely place. Not too many people on that Friday. Food was EXCELENT, GREAT SERVICE

EP
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We had a wonderful time. The service was excellent, the staff was so friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was very nice.

NI
Atlantic City
10 reviews
Dined on 5 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The best chicken Marsala I’ve ever had. Good experience.

AB
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 18 May 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 3Ambience 3

The food was good. The service shaky and slow. The noise was awful because the restaurant's own music was on a tinny and very short loop (bad enough on its own) and it was half drowned out by the (very mediocre) music festival piano/singing from the hall/foyer.

PS
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 18 May 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 3

No hostess set up an undesired experience. They responded with complimentary first round drinks.

OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 11 May 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

It was great little hard to get to but worth it service was impeccable

C
New York Area
7 reviews
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great for breakfast. We stayed at the resort and the restaurant was perfect for a bite before heading out.

OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Food was pretty good, the drinks were strong and the service was very friendly and attentive.

T
New York Area
12 reviews
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 5Ambience 4

It was ok nice place. Meatballs not worth the money. Make a better one myself.
But otherwise food was good nice atmosphere.

D
1 review
Dined on 23 March 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

This is my second time of dining at La Fine, and I look forward to future meals there. I love the setting and menu is very much to my taste. Both times my friends and concentrated on the pasta dishes, which were delicious. The wines are a bit pricey but that is standard on the East End.

DD
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

I absolutely loved the delicious Italian inspired cuisine. The mussels were to die for, and the meatball appetizer was delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially when we brought our 10 month old. I can not wait to go back for another meal. Highly recommend!

B
London
4 reviews
Dined on 19 January 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Dined there (couple with two young children) on a Saturday evening off season. Waiter was attentive and very friendly. The children were a little rowdy on occasion, but other diners were friendly and made us feel at ease. The food was lovely. Baked clams and Fried calamari, in particular, were delicious.

SB
Oklahoma City
1 review
Dined on 10 November 2018
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Small, cosy restaurant in historic Montauk Manor whose lobby is a spectacular example of '20s grandeur. The Italian menu is traditional but delicious with well-sourced local ingredients, especially the seafood. The ambiance is intimate and the service warm and friendly. For Montauk, where most of the restaurants charge outrageous prices, the value here is very good.

MR
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on 4 November 2018
Overall 1Food 1Service 2Ambience 1

Very disappointing . Food , environment , service were all poor and very overpriced for the quality of food and experience we had .
Definitely would not return nor recommend .

La Fine - Montauk
Responded on 7 November 2018

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience while dining with us. We have spoken with the head server who waited on you and your family; he has said that you did not complain to him about the service and even tipped him 18%. We wish we had the opportunity to address any issues you experienced and would have done whatever we could to make it right. We would love to have you dine with us again and please do not hesitate to ask for management for any complaints you may have. Thank you.

Report
W
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 2 November 2018
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Really enjoyed the food. Wonderful cream of asparagus & mushroom soup. And risotto rice balls were amazing. Special was spaghetti & meatballs.Can’t go wrong if you order mommas meatballs. Service was good. Really love Montauk Manor now they finally have a resturant worth going to. Hope everyone will support them and try Lafine if you haven’t yet.

OT
New York Area
12 reviews
Dined on 15 September 2018
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

I don't understand the negative reviews. We loved it. The food and the service were great and the setting was very charming.

R
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2018
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 1

Worst Service I’ve ever had at a restaurant...

AC
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2018
Overall 1Food 3Service 1Ambience 3

They were clearly understaffed. We waited 15 mins before being seated. Once we were seated, we sat there without water or without even a hello for 30 mins! We almost left when finally a waitress came over because we waved her on.
I understand being understaffed, but this is Montauk Manor, where the host shouldn’t also we the waiter, bus boy and a bartender. We finally got our meal at 9pm for a 7:30 pm reservation.

j
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on 24 August 2018
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Food was very good, however the menu is limited, so check it out before going. When we were initially seated, there was what seemed to be “club music” playing fairly loudly, but when requested that the volume be lowered, the management was quick to accommodate. They have a delicious bread basket which was refilled two times. The bread pieces were rather small, so when we asked for a third refill, we were told “no”. We told our server that we would pay for it and they brought out another and charged us $5. Although our server was lovely, there was a slight language barrier and one of the orders was misunderstood. My friend chose not to send the incorrect order back partially because the entree he received was one he also wanted to try and partially because he felt intimidated after the “bread basket” conversation. All and all a good meal in a beautiful setting.

G
New York Area
28 reviews
Dined on 23 August 2018
Overall 3Food 4Service 4Ambience 3

Our server was very nice - checking in with us a few times to make sure we had everything we needed. Food was very good. Restaurant was difficult to find so we were late but the place was quiet so it wasn’t a big issue.

OT
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 22 August 2018
Overall 3Food 3Service 4Ambience 4

This restaurant has a lovely patio for dining. It is a little hard to find as there is no signage coming to the hotel. Nonna's meatball appetizer was very good. The chicken and pasta was a little tasteless. Friendly wait staff. Pricing in line with other local restaurants. Historic Hotel gives a feeling of walking back in time

S
New York Area
44 reviews
Dined on 18 August 2018
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 4

Dreadful experience. I have serious shellfish and fish allergies. Open Table does a great job of alerting the restaurants in advance of this type of situation. In Hawaii I have even gotten calls in advance from a few restaurants stating that because of their size and the amount of fish served, they were very concerned. We mentioned it to the person who seated us and again to our waiter. Unfortunately the kitchen never got the message. When the food arrived, I again asked whether it was cooked apart from any fish and was reassured. Several hours later I realized no one cared enough to be careful with this meal and I had a serious allergic reaction. Shame on everyone involved. From Montauk the nearest hospital is a very long drive in Southampton and I was very lucky that the situation could be handled without resorting to that on a Saturday night. It definitely spoiled the evening in a very pretty restaurant.

Interestingly, my first review of this event has not been published despite more than enough time. I am concerned that a seriously negative review is being dispenced with by the restaurant or Open Table. I also expected a return call from the restaurant addressing the situation and at least apologizing.

This was a very serious, potentially life threatening situation that was easily avoidable by proper precautions and good communications within the restaurant staff. I am extremely disappointed at how this situation was handled.

1
2
3
4

Tweets by La Fine - Montauk