Brother Hubbard - North

4.4
333 reviews
€30 and under
Middle Eastern
Nestled in the city centre on Capel Street, itself one of Dublin’s most interesting and charming streets, Brother Hubbard North is just a stone’s throw from the River Liffey. 5 minutes walk from Temple Bar and O’Connell St, Brother Hubbard opened its doors in 2012 and quickly gained a reputation of one of Dublin’s most interesting and innovative dining destinations. Open for breakfast, brunch (7 days a week!), lunch and dinner, as well as having a dedicated take-away and retail shop, there’s lots to discover in and around our home on Capel Street. There is also a dedicated private dining space for private parties as well as a non-smoking courtyard. Dedicated to the finest coffee, the tastiest, freshest and most creative food as well as a warm and friendly welcome, Brother Hubbard North strives to constantly improve and develop its offering – join us on our adventu

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 333 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
Food
4.4
Service
4.4
Ambience
4.1
Value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3Food2Service5Ambience5

Lovely atmosphere and ambiance. Staff very attentive and friendly. Good was just ok, didn’t live up to the hype or expectations.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3Food5Service3Ambience4

Lacking atmosphere since the expansion. Service ridiculously slow (almost 45 minutes waiting for our food, 20 mins for my coffee). Overpriced for what it is, and the menu is a shadow of what it used to be.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Really nice restaurant with a good vibe. It’s one of my favourite restaurants for brunch’s

J
Joan
London
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience2

Very disappointing - staff while very nice and reasonably efficient were not identifiable from ordinary diners - no uniform, apron, branded masks or even name badges. The food was only alright and the coffee cake described deliciously on the menu as such a disappointment - dry, dense and maybe a day or two even beyond its best, and the coffee really needs to be looked at - the Americano was incredibly bitter. The place was really busy but they didn't rush us and the staff made the visit much more tolerable. Its definitely value for money but the food offering could do with a review along with the coffee.

C
Carra
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

A wonderful dining experience in the heart of Dublin City. The quality of the food outstanding, the staff superlative, the booking system efficient and easy. The attention to detail was obvious and much appreciated.
Covid regulations were adhered to in an exemplary fashion. We felt both safe and well looked after.
Well done to all at Brother Hubbard's; take a bow!

AG
AlexG
Berkshire
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience3

Pleasant mezze-style food. Perhaps not as brunch-y as I was expecting but it was very nice nonetheless. Service was quite slow and casual.

DP
DazP
Dublin
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

We has pre booked a Table. Had our Co-Vid Certificate scanned. We were just waiting to be shown to our Table. We ended up for a long period of time, waiting to be shown our pre booked Table, as one of the Staff Members were talking to Customers who had not pre booked a Table. Please show Customers who have pre booked a Table as priority. Thank you. This has never happened before.

PC
PatrickC
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Excellent food. Great atmosphere. Bbhhjmddfgbvhhbbhh

MO
vipMachaelaO
Dublin
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing as always! Great food, lovely environment and wonderful service

GY
GYDublin
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4Food3Service5Ambience4

The service was great, lovely dining ambience, but the dinner food didn't quite live up to the brunches from brother Hubbard.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 10 October 2021
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience5

Was my first time here and we all had a great experience. It was very busy so the service was a little slow but the food was great so it was worth the wait! Will definitely be back.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 10 October 2021
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience1

The food was lovely and don’t have any complaints on that.
However, the service was really poor. There was an issue with our drinks which was never resolved and we were overcharged for the drinks we did not receive.

We were charged an automatic service charge which is a disgrace when the service was not up to scratch. It should be at the customers discretion.

Overall disappointing.

HO
HelenaO
1 review
Dined on 10 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We just love this place. Staff are chill and everything was delicious.
I’d forgotten my phone and they were able to offer us a table outside as I didn’t have my vax pass.
A huge relief.

RM
RoisinM
1 review
Dined on 9 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

The best meal I’ve had in a long time. The quality of the ingredients was outstanding

S
Smarty
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 9 October 2021
Overall2Food4Service3Ambience1

I only ever leave good reviews and never leave a bad one, but I have to comment on my visit. I usually enjoy coming here but this visit was awful. The noise! My friend and I couldn’t hear each other, and when we left I had a headache. The restaurant is L-shape and we sat in the elbow and that may have been the reason for the noise level. So we decided to just have a main course with no sides and went somewhere else for dessert and coffee.
Food was nice, although we waited quite a while for it. I understand it was busy, but with a restaurant that big the kitchen should be equal to the task.
It might be a nice place if a group of people went and were happy to shout across to each other. It’s not for those wanting to have a chat.

Brother Hubbard - North
Responded 6 days ago

We're sorry that you found the space loud - that genuinely never seems to be a problem. If you had let us know, we could have moved you to a quieter spot - please note that for any restaurant, if you are unhappy with a situation most of us in this business want to do our best for you. If you didn't have starters, and on a busy evening, food will take longer- everything is cooked to order so it is just the nature of any restaurant that this will be the case where someone has only main course.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on 9 October 2021
Overall2Food2Service5Ambience5

Great service and atmosphere, food however didn't have much taste. Was not bad, just disappointing having had so many recommendations to try here. Perhaps kitchen just under a lot of pressure on a Saturday afternoon. Would perhaps try again during the week when less busy for the kitchen.

VR
ViniciusR
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 9 October 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience5

It gets busy during lunch and queue a bit disorganized. Excellent food, good service but some alcohol option are pricy.

JP
JanP
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 8 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience3

Food was original and delicious. Great attention to detail. Service excellent.

LO
LucyO
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 8 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Loved everything about this restaurant. The location, the aesthetics, the food, the staff were amazing, very helpful and fun. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a cool, trendy vibe!

DS
DavidS
1 review
Dined on 7 October 2021
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience3

A fine place to eat, but I remember a lot more variety when i was last in Dublin. Friendly unintrusive staff, just not what I remember and loved.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on 7 October 2021
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

Superb food very reasonably priced with good service.

LS
LilianaS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 5 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service3Ambience5

Interesting menu. Restaurant with a lot of space and natural light.

JD
JulieD
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 5 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food, very friendly relaxed service. And space feels very safe.

DP
DebiP
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 3 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Such a lovely experience, kind staff, beautiful atmosphere. Felt spacious and safe. A super relaxing brunch with good friends and fab, tasty and nutritious food. Thank you, we'll be back!

JS
JohnS
London
1 review
Dined on 3 October 2021
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience3

Service was poor. Waited an hour for food to arrive. Other tables who arrived after us got served before us. They are clearly understaffed which is a problem in lots of places but yet they are taking walk ins and the restaurant was packed with customers who they are not able to accommodate. Annoying as well that they insisted on a booking deposit upfront when I booked online a few hours before. At least if restaurants insist on booking deposits then they should commit to providing good service.

Brother Hubbard - North
Responded on 5 October 2021

Thanks for visiting us. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We're not currently understaffed but at peak times on a Sunday, food can take a little longer - we're sorry if this impacted on your visit. Please note however that we do not charge booking deposits - we simply take credit card details automatically via OpenTable to secure the booking. As you might be aware, this is very standard policy currently for most restaurants. Thanks again for your visit and best wishes.

Report
R
Rutypics
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Nice place and warm for eating outside with the use of the heating. The service was very good too.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Very attentive staff, excellent food, is definitely on my return again list....

P
Pobble
1 review
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience3

Vegetarian dish (mushroom and dumplings) was very bland, poorly seasoned and cold.
Service was ok but a little cold.
Far too expensive considering the quality.

p
papalipapoo
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 1 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Great atmosphere, great staff, and great food! Can't wait for the next new menu!

AF
AlejandroF
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 1 October 2021
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience5

Very good experience. Nice place, friendly staff and good food. Recommended

e
eddie
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 30 September 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

i've used brother hubbard's on a number of occasions for group bookings and everything has gone well. focused menu, helpful staff, accommodation to special requests. happy to visit again.

DM
DeeM
1 review
Dined on 26 September 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food as always delicious and beautifully presented. Staff and service excellent.
Highly recommend a visit.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 25 September 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Superb food, great vibe. Lovely space. 💯

FA
FernandaA
1 review
Dined on 25 September 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing as always. Staff super helpful and nice, food delicious.

RV
RadostV
1 review
Dined on 24 September 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent food and service!
Lots of GF options.
The place itself is also really nice.

P
Pinky
1 review
Dined on 24 September 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fantastic food, good service. It seems the menu has less options than before, but all dishes were spot on

DK
DeborahK
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 24 September 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Really nice food and good choice. Interesting wine menu.

SF
SarahF
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on 19 September 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The staff were so helpful in finding us the perfect table and could not have been any more helpful and accommodating. The food was delicious as always and the ambiance was so relaxed, felt like I was on holiday.

DJ
DavidJ
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 19 September 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great location and awesome food.
I love the vegan option for brunch and the coffee is really good

PD
PaulD
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 19 September 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Delicious and Nutritious. A nice change from the menu items you find in all brunch spots in Dublin

FAQs

Brother Hubbard - North does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo. Brother Hubbard - North also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (01) 441 1112.

Brother Hubbard - North is rated 4.4 stars by 333 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.