Café en Seine

4.0
80 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€31 to €50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Modern European
Top tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Vibrant Bar Scene
  • Special Occasions
This is the newly re-imagined Café en Seine, one of Dublin’s most iconic and stunning venues, nestled in the heart of Dublin on Dawson Street. Renowned for its five-star service, Café en Seine offers an extensive food menu which caters for a range of tastes and occasions. Bringing a new dining experience to Dublin, head chef Stephen Gibson and his team have created a menu that reflects the ever-changing tastes of Irish palates. Think simple, fun dishes, bursting with seasonal flavours, that are great to share while still delivering a high-end food experience in a casual dining atmosphere.

*Please note we are only taking bookings on Opentable for the restaurant. For drinks and events in one of our bars please mail bookings@cafeenseine.ie *

There is a service charge of 12.5% applies to the bill for groups of 7 people or more. Children are welcome until 8pm. Tables will be held for 15 mins from booking time.
What 80 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
Food
4.1
Service
4.3
Ambience
3.7
Value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Food was good, and the service was excellent. It got very noisy towards the end of the night; beyond the point at which it was difficult to keep up a conversation over the volume of the music. But if that wouldn't bother you, then it's easy to recommend.

Café en Seine
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks very much for your review!

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 12 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Wonderful waitress, friendly, great atmosphere and delicious food ... what’s not to like ?

Café en Seine
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks so much for your lovely review!

Report
Helpful
l
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 11 April 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 5Ambience 5

Our Burgers were raw and all our meals were cold. Service was excellent however and the staff offered a new burger and two meals were taken off the bill

Café en Seine
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Lauren, We're sorry to hear you had a negative experience on your recent visit. We have taken action to ensure this does not occur again and we hope that comping your meals went some way to making up for this. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more positive experience in the near future. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
PH
London
1 review
Dined on 8 April 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 4Ambience 3

The Staf was great. Friendly and serviceminded. The venu was also nice. The food how ever was tasteless and really disappointing. It felt like it was cocked with out any engagement or joy.

Café en Seine
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Pernilla, We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with the food on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our guests a superior dining experience so we are naturally disappointed that this was not the case for you. We will be investigating your feedback so that we can ensure this doesn't happen for future guests. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a more positive experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
J
13 reviews
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The food was lovely. The decor was very nice. The waitress was young but very professional and attentive.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review Janiel. We'll hope to see you again soon!

Report
Helpful
BH
London
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 3Ambience 2

Hi a table for 5 was a table for 4 with the fifth person stuck on the end in an aisle very uncomfortable

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're sorry to hear you found the seating arrangements lacking on your recent visit. We will be taking your feedback on board so that we can ensure the seating arrangements are consistently appropriate going forward. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cafe en Seine again in the near future. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
SD
Dublin
8 reviews
Dined on 5 April 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 1Ambience 3

Really enjoyed our evening. Food was good.. Service was awful. Wrong order came to our table at least five times. Never seen anything like it. Very disappointing.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Hi Suzanne, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're sorry to hear that the service was disappointing on your recent visit. We will be investigating your feedback so that we can ensure we can avoid this happening again as we understand that something like this can be very frustrating for our customers. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
j
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 2 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Staff were so nice. Wss there at 1.30pm on tuesday and the lady that served us was very nice and pleasant.
Sandwiches were so nice too

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Thanks for giving us your feedback John. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Report
Helpful
MM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 4Ambience 5

The location and surroundings are amazing but the food was sub par nothing to write home about

Café en Seine
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Mathew, We're sorry to hear you found the food sub par on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our guests a superb dining experience so we are certainly disappointed that we failed to do that on this occasion. We have taken your feedback on board and will be using it to ensure we remedy any relevant problems. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for an improved experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
DM
Bedfordshire
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Amazing venue and lovely food and great service couldn’t ask for better

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Thanks so much for those kind words Donna!

Report
Helpful
NK
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5Food 3Service 5Ambience 5

Staff were fantastic, friendly and professional. Food was a little cold but still tasty. Live music on a Sunday added to the relaxing ambiance. Will definitely return.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review Niamh. We're looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report
Helpful
VR
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 1Food 2Service 1Ambience 3

I wouldn’t go back there.

The waiter who served our table wasn’t nice.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Hi Vinska, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent experience. Our aim is to ensure all of our guests have a fantastic experience so we are certainly keen to gather more information about your experience so we can ensure that future guests do not have a similar issues. We would really appreciate it if you could send on the details of your experience to bookings@cafeenseine.ie for this reason. Hoping to hear from you soon. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
F
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 1

My family had booked a table for 1.30 pm and when we arrived were given a Brunch menu. The Brunch menu was limited and when we asked for a lunch menu we were told there was none. The website does list a brunch menu and we were not offered a bar menu either. In the end we left as we did not find the staff very accommodating and the menu we received was quite limited. I have been here for drinks before and found it very good and so was incredibly disappointed.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Hi, We're sorry to hear you had a negative experience on your recent visit. We do indeed offer both lunch and brunch but unfortunately, as with most restaurants, we cannot offer both at the same time. Our brunch menu has been devised with the hope that it will cater to a wide variety of tastes so it is unfortunate that the offering did not suit you on this occasion. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for a more positive experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
OT
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Brilliant brunch with my family. The staff went out of their way to accommodate my baby girl (11 months). The staff were great and the food was really good. A really good brunch experience.

Café en Seine
Responded on 1 April 2019

Hi, Thanks so much for those kind words. We're delighted we could make your brunch extra special! Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
AM
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 29 March 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 1Ambience 3

Third time for me in this venue: great food but very poor service. I don’t think the issue is on the floor, the waiters do their best to be helpful. The problem is in the kitchen, the waiting for food is far too long and that’s because the food is not coming out of the kitchen at a decent rate. I cannot fault the food, it’s delicious and well cooked but the quality of the service and the rate at which is managed are two important factors to enjoy a dinner out, especially when it doesn’t come cheap. And there are many other venues in Dublin that serve excellent food with a much much better service. I don’t think I’ll go to Café en Sein for food for a fourth time, I might go there just for drinks.

Café en Seine
Responded on 1 April 2019

Hi Andrea, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you found the service slow on your recent visit. We appreciate that this must have been frustrating for you so we are taking your comments on board so that we can iron out these issues and ensure service is more efficient going forward. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for an improved experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
MD
1 review
Dined on 29 March 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 3

Great service and staff - really efficient and friendly. Every member of the team - host , waiter etc were tops. I’m celiac and the menus had plenty options and waiter was so supportive and well informed, he quickly checked options and made it an really easy experience.
The bar is so noisy so the restaurant is a great alternative for a group of people who want to catch up and chat in comfort.
We had the house white which was lovely.

Café en Seine
Responded on 1 April 2019

Hi Maura, Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal so much. We'll look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 25 March 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

My favourite place.. was lovely as always !

Café en Seine
Responded on 1 April 2019

Thanks so much for those kind words!

Report
Helpful
LR
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 23 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Good food. Excellent location. Nice decor. Friendy staffs

Café en Seine
Responded on 26 March 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review!

Report
Helpful
C
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 22 March 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 1Ambience 3

Excluding the woman who seated us the service was terrible.

Café en Seine
Responded on 26 March 2019

Hi Carol, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our excellent service so we are taking your feedback seriously and investigating what went wrong on your visit. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our sincere apologies. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
AK
1 review
Dined on 17 March 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 2

I really like Café en Seine. However, some of your service personnel nowadays are a bit snotty and your dining area is too loud for elegance. You should place a glass divider between your cocktail bar and your fine dining area. I used to go to your place for the atmosphere of La Belle Epoque but now it is gone. You replaced it with contemporary elegance but what is the deal with the hanging plants in your cocktail area? I certainly don’t want a worm or a piece of dust falling into my cocktail. Otherwise, I do love your place still. Thank you! 🌹👌

Café en Seine
Responded on 26 March 2019

Hi Amor, Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted that a loyal customer such as yourself is still such a fan of our venue. We appreciate your thoughts on the venue and would like to note that our plants are actually mummified so you don't have to worry about any worms! We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
SF
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 16 March 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Gorgeous setup, atmosphere was really good and the food was so nice. So

Café en Seine
Responded on 19 March 2019

Thanks very much for taking the time to review us Sarah.

Report
Helpful
EU
London
1 review
Dined on 16 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 3Ambience 3

Had lunch 16th March, Top quality cooking in a really good relaxed atmosphere. Can’t wait to try it for dinner.

Café en Seine
Responded on 19 March 2019

Thanks Elaine, we're delighted you had such a good time with us!

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 15 March 2019
Overall 3Food 1Service 5Ambience 4

Very very over priced. €13 for a mouthful of a cocktail. Service amazing. Food portions very small also

Café en Seine
Responded on 19 March 2019

Hi, We're sorry to hear you felt the cocktails were overpriced on your recent visit. Our cocktail menu was created in partnership with the flavour scientists at Crucible London so that we could provide an extremely high end offering that emphasises flavour over quantity so that may go some way to explaining our pricing policy. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cafe en Seine in the near future. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
DM
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on 10 March 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Lovely food. Service was excellent. Vibrant bar.

Café en Seine
Responded on 12 March 2019

Thanks Daisy!

Report
Helpful
EK
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 9 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 4

Amazing food and extremely friendly staff. Only issue was that the drinks took a little while to get to us but food was nice and prompt. Will definitely be returning.

Café en Seine
Responded on 12 March 2019

Thanks so much Emily. We'll look forward to seeing you again.

Report
Helpful
KS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 9 March 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 3Ambience 5

The decor is great. But the food just isn’t all the way there. Our order was messed up and my partner’s meal came with food that wasn’t listed on the menu. He had the grill, I had the pancakes. The pancakes were fine, overall a bit pricey for what you get. Go for drinks, skip the food.

Café en Seine
Responded on 12 March 2019

Hi Kate, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you weren't impressed with the dining element on your recent visit. We will be taking your feedback on board so that we can make any necessary improvements to our offering in order to ensure all future guests have a wonderful experience. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a more positive experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
PB
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 4Ambience 3

Food very expensive and not that tasty. Nicely refurbished place but would not return to eat.

Café en Seine
Responded on 12 March 2019

Hi Pascale, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with the food on you recent visit. Our mission is to offer customers high quality food that is remembered for all the right reasons so we are disappointed that we failed on this occasion. We will be taking your feedback on board as we review our menus. We hope will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a more positive experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
T
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 2Ambience 2

Lacking atmosphere, staff not friendly

Café en Seine
Responded on 12 March 2019

Hi Tilly, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy on your recent visit. We will be investigating your comments about the staff being unfriendly on the date of our visit so that we can ensure we implement any necessary training to ensure we remedy this issue. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for an improved experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2019
Overall 1Food 2Service 4Ambience 3

The food was served in inappropriate crockery. I had to ask the waiter for a side plate to put my mussel shells on. Why side plates are removed prior to Main courses being served is a mystery to me. Overall the food was mediocre. The presentation of my starter of beetroot was crude and the beetroot was undercooked - the accompanying goats cheese was minimal. Sea bass was tasty and cooked nicely but on top of a load of mussels and kale just did not work. The wine was unbelievably overpriced.

Café en Seine
Responded on 12 March 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent experience. Our aim is to ensure all of our customers have an excellent experience with us so naturally we are disappointed to hear your comments. We are taking your feedback on board so that we can make improvements to our offering to ensure we can wow future customers. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for an improved experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
BD
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

We had a really great time. Service was exellent. Starter and desert was fab.

Café en Seine
Responded on 12 March 2019

Thanks Beata. We're delighted you had such a good time and we will look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report
Helpful
KW
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2019
Overall 2Food 4Service 1Ambience 5

The chicken dish was lovely, glad we ordered side orders, as the main course portions were quite small. The fish burger was not enjoyed. Service was EXTREMELY slow, even though there was barely anybody there when we arrived - we were there 1 hour before our main course arrived. Based on slow service it is not somewhere we would recommend or go again for lunch - but the food and and surroundings were lovely.

Café en Seine
Responded on 12 March 2019

Hi Katherine, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with your recent experience. Our aim is to ensure all of our guests have an excellent experience so we are certainly concerned by your feedback and we will be taking measures to ensure these issues are remedied. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a more positive experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
JD
1 review
Dined on 5 March 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 4Ambience 3

Staff were very attentive and the decor is beautiful. Unfortunately the quality of food for the price was low and quite small portions (you need to order sides with your main dish). There was a leak in the roof too when I was there. I'd probably recommend going in for drinks but not for food

Café en Seine
Responded on 12 March 2019

Hi Jennie, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the food on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our guests excellent quality food so we are certainly disappointed that you feel that we didn't succeed on this occasion. We will be taking your feedback on board so that we can improve our offering where necessary. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for an improved experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
IW
1 review
Dined on 4 March 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 5Ambience 5

Great service, amazing staff and beautiful ambience. The fish was a little bit too vinagre. But the appetizers were sensational!

Café en Seine
Responded on 11 March 2019

Thanks you for that lovely feedback Isabel. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Report
Helpful
AP
1 review
Dined on 3 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Cafe en Seine was recommended to us by a colleague and I will be making the same recommendation to anyone I know traveling to Dublin... decor is great, like a throwback to the 50’s, staff were really friendly and knowledgable about the dishes on offer (we went for the waiters recommendations and weren’t disappointed) and the food was brilliant... next time we’re in Dublin we’ll definitely pay cafe en Seine another visit!

Café en Seine
Responded on 5 March 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review Ash! We'll look forward to welcoming you back!

Report
Helpful
DP
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 4Ambience 5

The Steak dinner was ordered and requested medium rare.Te steak was dry also it was tough.It was a disappointment as a steak is not a complicated meal to get right.The chicken main course was ok.

Café en Seine
Responded on 11 March 2019

Hi David, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you found your steak unsatisfactory. Our aim is to ensure we offer all of our customers a five star experience so we will be taking your feedback on board to ensure future guests do not encounter similar issues. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cafe en Seine for a more positive experience in the near future. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
JM
1 review
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We were a family group of 6, the service was fantastic, all the staff were friendly, chatting and great to be with. We ordered the burgers and the chicken everybody enjoyed their meal and went away very satisfied . better still the price was very reasonable well done to all at Cafe en Seine

Café en Seine
Responded on 5 March 2019

Thanks very much John!

Report
Helpful
s
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 3Ambience 4

More like a bar than a restaurant. Music was way too loud after ten!

Café en Seine
Responded on 5 March 2019

Hi Siobhan, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you found the music too loud during your visit. As we cater for a wide variety of tastes and occasions, we aim to accommodate everyone so we are sorry to hear the music was too loud for you. We will be taking all feedback on board as we review our policies and making any necessary changes as dictated by the majority of our feedback. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
JD
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 23 February 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Food and service were very good. I will recommend this restaurant. The dessert (chocolate fondant) was outstanding !

Café en Seine
Responded on 26 February 2019

Thanks so much Julie!

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 23 February 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 3Ambience 4

Food was very good, nice decor and some staff friendly and professional but one waiter could do with some people skills - abrupt and unsmiling.

Café en Seine
Responded on 26 February 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your experience for the most part however we are taking your feedback with regard to the unfriendly nature of one of our wait team on board so that we can remedy this issue. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
LH
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 23 February 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Thank you to our fabulous waitress Yvette in Cafe en Seine. Great food and even better service, we'll be back.

Café en Seine
Responded on 26 February 2019

Thanks Laura! We'll look forward to seeing you again!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4