Café en Seine

Star_8_Created with Sketch.Star_8_Created with Sketch.Star_8_Created with Sketch.Star_8_Created with Sketch.star-quarterCreated with Sketch.
4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
107 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€31 to €50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Modern European
Top tags:
  • Vibrant Bar Scene
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasions
This is the newly re-imagined Café en Seine, one of Dublin’s most iconic and stunning venues, nestled in the heart of Dublin on Dawson Street. Renowned for its five-star service, Café en Seine offers an extensive food menu which caters for a range of tastes and occasions. Bringing a new dining experience to Dublin, head chef Stephen Gibson and his team have created a menu that reflects the ever-changing tastes of Irish palates. Think simple, fun dishes, bursting with seasonal flavours, that are great to share while still delivering a high-end food experience in a casual dining atmosphere.

*Please note we are only taking bookings on Opentable for the restaurant. For drinks and events in one of our bars please mail bookings@cafeenseine.ie *

There is a service charge of 12.5% applies to the bill for groups of 7 people or more. Children are welcome until 8pm. Tables will be held for 15 mins from booking time.
What 107 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
Food
4.2
Service
4.3
Ambience
3.7
Value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 4Ambience 4

Service was very good and the atmosphere lively. We both had the beetroot and goats cheese for starter - though it could do with more goats cheese! We also both ordered the special which was striploin with fries and onion rings. I asked for my steak to be cooked medium however it was more well done and I was unable to finish it. The accompanying fries were cold. I was disappointed as the last time I ate at Cafe en Seine with family, we all had the ribeye and were all pleased with it.

Café en Seine
Responded on 11 June 2019

Thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear that your steak was overcooked during your recent visit. We will take your feedback on board and we hope we can welcome you and your family back for ribeyes in the future. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine team

Report
Helpful
MG
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Our waitress was vivid and serviceminded. The food was good - the lamb Amazing! Nice and lively atmosphere

Café en Seine
Responded on 11 June 2019

Thank you for the review Marie, we hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine team

Report
Helpful
DK
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 3

Taking into account the small number of people in the restaurant when we were dining the service was poor. Front of house friendly shown to table and given menus (excluding drinks just wine menu). Waiting a while for restaurant staff, got drinks order wrong, then got wrong again for another guest who joined me. Trying to get there attention once meal was finished difficult. Expensive for what you get - special sirloin steak asked for medium got well done - pepper sauce very oily. Onion rings and beef dripping chips lovely. It would not be top of my list to go back mainly due to service and price. Looks well since they done it up but these need to be improved.

Café en Seine
Responded on 11 June 2019

Thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service during your recent visit. We will take your feedback on board and we hope we can welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine team

Report
Helpful
EF
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 3 June 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

We had a family get-together in Cafe en Seine on Bank Holiday Monday and I was so delighted with our choice of venue. All the staff were excellent - very friendly and efficient. The food was very good but maybe not the most exciting. However the menu was broad with choices for everyone. The cocktails were exceptional. After our brunch we enjoyed a coffee in the garden area at the back. Very relaxing ambience and the decor is beautiful. Would definitely recommend!

Café en Seine
Responded on 5 June 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review Elizabeth. We'll hope to see you again soon!😃

Report
Helpful
GG
1 review
Dined on 29 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Wonderful room. Great service good food but it's noisy. Had a great dinner.

Café en Seine
Responded on 5 June 2019

Thanks for your review George, we're delighted you enjoyed your meal!

Report
Helpful
m
Indiana
4 reviews
Dined on 28 May 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

The food and service was excellent a little noisy though

Café en Seine
Responded on 5 June 2019

Thanks for your review Monica!

Report
Helpful
MH
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 25 May 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

We were late for our booking but the hostess was so lovely and accommodating. All the staff were so attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend

Café en Seine
Responded on 5 June 2019

Thanks for your review Michelle. We're delighted you had such a lovely experience with us!

Report
Helpful
OT
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on 24 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Service was great, staff are very friendly and helpful and the food was gorgeous!

Café en Seine
Responded on 28 May 2019

Thanks for your review, we're delighted you had such a good time!

Report
Helpful
PN
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 23 May 2019
Overall 1Food 3Service 1Ambience 4

Unfriendly and cheeky waiter. Extremely loud. The food was okay but not worth its price. As we didn‘t order enough in the waiters opinion we were almost thrown out. Very disappointing . Café en Seine used to be so much better!!!!!!!! :-(

Café en Seine
Responded on 28 May 2019

Hi Petra, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our customers an excellent experience so we are disappointed that this was not the case for you. We are concerned by your comment that you were almost thrown out as this is a huge departure from our regular service. Would it be possible for you to message us with further details so we can get to the bottom of this? Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
PF
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 21 May 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

Good food, helpful staff and good ambience. Highly recommended

Café en Seine
Responded on 28 May 2019

Thanks Pat!

Report
Helpful
NG
Tampa
6 reviews
Dined on 20 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Beautiful venue, great staff and amazing food. My husband said the lamb rump was cooked to perfection and my 'lobster burger ' was outstanding. The decor is really beautiful and he staff were outstandingly welcoming and professional. I highly recommend and will definitely go back when next in Dublin.

Café en Seine
Responded on 28 May 2019

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review Nancy!

Report
Helpful
AC
London
2 reviews
Dined on 20 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Food taste gorgeous and well presented. Cocktail were great. Service is also excellent. Highly recommended if anyone visits Dublin.

Café en Seine
Responded on 28 May 2019

Thank you for those kind words!

Report
Helpful
MD
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 18 May 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

One of the most stunning places I have ever been to - Worldwide

Café en Seine
Responded on 21 May 2019

Thanks very much Mary!

Report
Helpful
HT
1 review
Dined on 18 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Café en Seine is a dream! THE place to go for a trendy and glamorous brunch experience in Dublin. I made a reservation for lunch with my sister on a Saturday which turned out to be a great executive decision. Exceptional service; perfect interiors; and the food is delicious – I'd recommend the chicken! And the Bloody Mary's are great. My sister recommends the hot chocolate. I'll definitely be back and would 100% recommend to a friend.

Café en Seine
Responded on 21 May 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review Hayley. We're delighted you had such a wonderful experience and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report
Helpful
SM
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 18 May 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Good atmosphere and food was delicious but menu a bit limited

Café en Seine
Responded on 21 May 2019

Thanks for your review Sarah!

Report
Helpful
FB
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 12 May 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

Staff were friendly. We were told orders had to be in by 4 so we ordered and got our food promptly. After that we had trouble trying to get attention to even get a dessert menu. Must’ve waited almost half hour after plates were cleared away.
Ambience was great. Food was fine. Wine was over €10 per glass... whaaaaat? I could’ve nearly had a bottle for the price of my two glasses. I’ve never paid that much for a glass wine in Dublin except MAYBE in the Shelbourne Hotel.
Decor is fab. Would go again but would ask to see wine prices first!

Café en Seine
Responded on 21 May 2019

Hi Fiona, Thanks for your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us for the most part, however we have noted your criticisms and we will be working to resolve these issues. With regard to our wine selection, we offer a variety of high quality wines starting from €7 a glass. Our servers are happy to advise on the selection and cost of each wine which could be useful should you return. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The place is very nice and the food was perfect. A cool place to go out.

Café en Seine
Responded on 21 May 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review!

Report
Helpful
p
13 reviews
Dined on 6 May 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 3

Excellent food and great service! We will definitely be back.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 May 2019

Thanks so much!

Report
Helpful
PM
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 5 May 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Brunch in the main are was lovely, food was great and the atmosphere to match. We moved to the garden for afters and a piano player at first was great by the end was playing too loud and couldn’t hear people talking over him.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 May 2019

Hi Paul, Thanks so much for your review, we're delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience with us. We appreciate your comments on the music and will be taking your feedback on board. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
S
London
2 reviews
Dined on 3 May 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Lovely buzzy night out with friends. Great range of food and warm staff. Was with celiac friend so menu detail could have been clearer!

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 May 2019

Hi, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted that you had such a good night with us. We appreciate your comments on the menu, however we would like to note that we do have a menu that details any allergens that our dishes may contain which our server would be happy to give you on your next visit, we hope this will help. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
e
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 3Ambience 4

Bar staff could be a bit more polite - other than that, it was good.

Café en Seine
Responded on 7 May 2019

Hi Elaine, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're sorry to hear that you thought our bar team weren't as polite as you would hope. We will be taking your feedback on board so that we can ensure that we deliver excellent customer service at all times going forward. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a more positive experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
EM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 30 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Two lovely evenings there and food very nice. Helpful, friendly staff.

Café en Seine
Responded on 7 May 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review Eve, we're delighted you had such a good time!

Report
Helpful
AP
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

A wonderful night, with exceptional food. A special thank you to the young lady who waited on us. She was very professional and curtious. We will be back.
Regards
Alan & Anne.

Café en Seine
Responded on 30 April 2019

Thanks very much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted you had such a positive experience!

Report
Helpful
SC
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

I have to say, best experience for my friends birthday I have had. I need to say our waitress was amazing and made the best recommendations for cocktails and food. We absolutely loved her. Please make sure to shout out to her. We didn’t catch her name unfortunately but she served us on Friday April 26th our table was at 6:30pm and he has short dark curly hair, very bubbly and very funny. Loved her! Wasn’t impressed with the hostess I heard her trying to kick us off the table speaking rudely to our waitress and letting us hear. Not professional. Food was amazing by the way!! I will be back to celebrate my birthday

Café en Seine
Responded on 30 April 2019

Thanks for your review Siobhan. We're looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
Helpful
RF
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 3Ambience 4

Lovely venue fabulous food only issue was draft from front door every time someone entered or left. We did ask to be moved and were accommodated but we were still aware of the draft!

Report
Helpful
KO
1 review
Dined on 24 April 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

Post-2pm business lunch with client. Nice and quiet. Food good; wine good; got the meeting done. Even space in the bar to duck into a quiet corner and take the odd phone call.

Café en Seine
Responded on 30 April 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're delighted you found our venue so nice and convenient for your meeting.

Report
Helpful
WA
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 23 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Gorgeous Venue - with food and service to match. Walking by we knew we had to have our one special meal in Dublin at this restaurant - it did not disappoint. Lovely staff completed our experience.

Café en Seine
Responded on 30 April 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review William. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Food was good, and the service was excellent. It got very noisy towards the end of the night; beyond the point at which it was difficult to keep up a conversation over the volume of the music. But if that wouldn't bother you, then it's easy to recommend.

Café en Seine
Responded on 16 April 2019

Thanks very much for your review!

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 12 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Wonderful waitress, friendly, great atmosphere and delicious food ... what’s not to like ?

Café en Seine
Responded on 16 April 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review!

Report
Helpful
l
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 11 April 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 5Ambience 5

Our Burgers were raw and all our meals were cold. Service was excellent however and the staff offered a new burger and two meals were taken off the bill

Café en Seine
Responded on 16 April 2019

Hi Lauren, We're sorry to hear you had a negative experience on your recent visit. We have taken action to ensure this does not occur again and we hope that comping your meals went some way to making up for this. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more positive experience in the near future. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
PH
London
1 review
Dined on 8 April 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 4Ambience 3

The Staf was great. Friendly and serviceminded. The venu was also nice. The food how ever was tasteless and really disappointing. It felt like it was cocked with out any engagement or joy.

Café en Seine
Responded on 16 April 2019

Hi Pernilla, We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with the food on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our guests a superior dining experience so we are naturally disappointed that this was not the case for you. We will be investigating your feedback so that we can ensure this doesn't happen for future guests. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a more positive experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
J
14 reviews
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The food was lovely. The decor was very nice. The waitress was young but very professional and attentive.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review Janiel. We'll hope to see you again soon!

Report
Helpful
BH
London
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 3Ambience 2

Hi a table for 5 was a table for 4 with the fifth person stuck on the end in an aisle very uncomfortable

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're sorry to hear you found the seating arrangements lacking on your recent visit. We will be taking your feedback on board so that we can ensure the seating arrangements are consistently appropriate going forward. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cafe en Seine again in the near future. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
SD
Dublin
9 reviews
Dined on 5 April 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 1Ambience 3

Really enjoyed our evening. Food was good.. Service was awful. Wrong order came to our table at least five times. Never seen anything like it. Very disappointing.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Hi Suzanne, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're sorry to hear that the service was disappointing on your recent visit. We will be investigating your feedback so that we can ensure we can avoid this happening again as we understand that something like this can be very frustrating for our customers. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
j
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 2 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Staff were so nice. Wss there at 1.30pm on tuesday and the lady that served us was very nice and pleasant.
Sandwiches were so nice too

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Thanks for giving us your feedback John. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Report
Helpful
MM
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 4Ambience 5

The location and surroundings are amazing but the food was sub par nothing to write home about

Café en Seine
Responded on 16 April 2019

Hi Mathew, We're sorry to hear you found the food sub par on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our guests a superb dining experience so we are certainly disappointed that we failed to do that on this occasion. We have taken your feedback on board and will be using it to ensure we remedy any relevant problems. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for an improved experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
DM
Bedfordshire
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Amazing venue and lovely food and great service couldn’t ask for better

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Thanks so much for those kind words Donna!

Report
Helpful
NK
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5Food 3Service 5Ambience 5

Staff were fantastic, friendly and professional. Food was a little cold but still tasty. Live music on a Sunday added to the relaxing ambiance. Will definitely return.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review Niamh. We're looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report
Helpful
VR
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 1Food 2Service 1Ambience 3

I wouldn’t go back there.

The waiter who served our table wasn’t nice.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Hi Vinska, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent experience. Our aim is to ensure all of our guests have a fantastic experience so we are certainly keen to gather more information about your experience so we can ensure that future guests do not have a similar issues. We would really appreciate it if you could send on the details of your experience to bookings@cafeenseine.ie for this reason. Hoping to hear from you soon. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
F
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 1

My family had booked a table for 1.30 pm and when we arrived were given a Brunch menu. The Brunch menu was limited and when we asked for a lunch menu we were told there was none. The website does list a brunch menu and we were not offered a bar menu either. In the end we left as we did not find the staff very accommodating and the menu we received was quite limited. I have been here for drinks before and found it very good and so was incredibly disappointed.

Café en Seine
Responded on 8 April 2019

Hi, We're sorry to hear you had a negative experience on your recent visit. We do indeed offer both lunch and brunch but unfortunately, as with most restaurants, we cannot offer both at the same time. Our brunch menu has been devised with the hope that it will cater to a wide variety of tastes so it is unfortunate that the offering did not suit you on this occasion. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for a more positive experience. Best wishes, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5
null