Café en Seine

Star_8_Created with Sketch.Star_8_Created with Sketch.Star_8_Created with Sketch.Star_8_Created with Sketch.star-quarterCreated with Sketch.
4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
152 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€31 to €50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Modern European
This is the newly re-imagined Café en Seine, one of Dublin’s most iconic and stunning venues, nestled in the heart of Dublin on Dawson Street. Renowned for its five-star service, Café en Seine offers an extensive food menu which caters for a range of tastes and occasions. Bringing a new dining experience to Dublin, head chef Stephen Gibson and his team have created a menu that reflects the ever-changing tastes of Irish palates. Think simple, fun dishes, bursting with seasonal flavours, that are great to share while still delivering a high-end food experience in a casual dining atmosphere.

*Please note we are only taking bookings on Opentable for the restaurant. For drinks and events in one of our bars please mail bookings@cafeenseine.ie *

There is a service charge of 12.5% applies to the bill for groups of 7 people or more. Children are welcome until 8pm. Tables will be held for 15 mins from booking time.
What 152 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
Food
4.2
Service
4.3
Ambience
3.8
Value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Dublin
5 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 4

Food was nice and the place looks great, although the chicken somewhat resembles a snack box. I’d recommend requesting a table away from the entrance of the dining area, unfortunately the door was either open or swinging for most of our meal and it became quite cold.

CR
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 3Food 2Service 4Ambience 3

Service and Ambience were satisfactory. We had to ask a couple of times for drinks that never arrived. The food was only average, tbh a little disappointing. We had 2 vegetarians and there was very little choice, there was only 1 fish main which was very expensive at €30.

SM
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

Good service and good food, typical town prices but worth it for a lovely ambience in beautiful surroundings

JC
1 review
Dined on 9 August 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

My wife and I celebrated her birthday in the relaxed atmosphere of the restaurant. Delicious food, great service and we enjoyed the garden bar night club afterwards.

Café en Seine
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the great review John. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the future. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team.

Report
TS
1 review
Dined on 9 August 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Such a beautiful place. Loved the vibe of the place - fancy without being pretentious and casual enough so you can actually relax while you’re there. Food was good, not out of this world good, but definitely above average. Actually preferred the small plate to the main course I ordered, next time I plan on just getting one or two small plates. Also the dessert was amazing so definitely a good idea to go for the small plates to leave space for some 😉

Café en Seine
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the feedback Tabitha. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report
CP
New England
5 reviews
Dined on 8 August 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

Gorgeous interior, fantastic food. The sticky toffee pudding is a must.

Café en Seine
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you, and we're happy that you chose to dine with us while you were visiting Dublin. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
JE
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Amazing food and cocktails also lovely kids menu and made to feel very welcome

Café en Seine
Responded on 6 August 2019

Thank you for the review Jenny. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
EB
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 2 August 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Thank you one more time ! We really had a great lunch with wonderful service and ambient. I hope someday visit this place again. Best regards from Switzerland.

Café en Seine
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the review Eliane! We look forward to seeing you again next time you're back in Dublin. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
RD
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 4Ambience 5

Great service by managers and supervisors, they were very welcoming and polite. Striploin steak was okay, nice ambience, limited menu, great drinks. The girl on the door was particularly welcoming and friendly

Café en Seine
Responded on 30 July 2019

Thank you for the review Ronan, we will pass your feedback onto the team. Best wishes, Cafe En Seine

Report
RB
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 26 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Perfect place for food and drinks.. great atmosphere and the decor is just amazing

Café en Seine
Responded on 30 July 2019

Thank you for the review Rita, we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
BO
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Had a lovely time with great food and service, would definitely recommend and return

Café en Seine
Responded on 30 July 2019

Thank you for the review Brian. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
RS
1 review
Dined on 21 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We visited Cafe en Seine on a Sunday evening - party of 5. We will definitely come back. The food and service were excellent and the atmosphere was great - still busy for a Sunday evening. Food recommendations would be the Mussels starter, Duck Ragu & the 740g of Beef - superb!

Café en Seine
Responded on 30 July 2019

Thank you for the review Roberta. We're happy to hear you and your friends had a great evening. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
SB
1 review
Dined on 20 July 2019
Overall 3Food 5Service 3Ambience 3

We almost didn't stay as the service was so poor when we arrived. Lots of staff wandering around but not very knowledgeable about the dining times or the menu available. Even though we were sitting in the Cocktail Bar at 5pm we booked our table online for 5:15pm due to the bad service and empty promises that they would find out about booking a table for dinner and get back to us. The place was busy enough but as said plenty of staff wandering around.

We had a wonderful meal and the service was excellent in the dining area. The atmosphere was very chilled and a real sense of being out for the evening. We are looking forward to returning with friends over the coming weeks.

We are glad we stayed.

Café en Seine
Responded on 23 July 2019

Hello Susan, We're sorry to hear that you were initially unhappy with the service on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our customers an excellent experience so we are disappointed that we failed to do that on this occasion. We have taken your feedback on board so that we can ensure a similar instance does not reoccur. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies. We are glad to hear you had a great night in the end! Regards, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
MM
1 review
Dined on 20 July 2019
Overall 5Food 3Service 4Ambience 5

Really enjoyed our afternoon, never had a scone with whipped cream before, especially when expecting clotted cream but thoroughly enjoyed.
Waitress was quite abrupt at times, our first order she gave myself the wrong cocktail which was meant for another table and her and the barman had a mini dispute about this right behind our table (as we were beside the bar)
Lovely and friendly front of house staff, really nice atmosphere and a lot better than when I was visiting 4years ago. Will definitely be back again

Café en Seine
Responded on 23 July 2019

Thank you for the review Megan, your feedback has been forwarded onto the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
J
London
7 reviews
Dined on 19 July 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Lovely food and great attentive service by staff. We were charged for an extra bottle of wine than we had consumed, but this was resolved without issue. Staff were very friendly. And cocktails are beautiful!

Café en Seine
Responded on 23 July 2019

Thank you for the review Jack, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your cocktails. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 19 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

It was a great atmosphere, the food was gorgeous and our server was absolutely lovely. Can’t wait to go back again!

Café en Seine
Responded on 23 July 2019

Thank you for the review!

Report
L
San Francisco
121 reviews
Dined on 15 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We were on our first trip to Dublin..
Cafe en Seine had been highly recommended by Friends, and all was wonderfully brilliant!
Delicious meal with professional accommodating service,
Lovely evening!

Café en Seine
Responded on 23 July 2019

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again next time you're visiting Dublin. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
FM
1 review
Dined on 15 July 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 2Ambience 4

Arrived for lunch and ordered by 12.40 but 3 sandwiches not served until about 1.20. Waiter apologised and didn’t charge for coffee but cafe needs to be ready to deal with lunch trade and get people in and out quickly. Chicken club (chef had no bacon despite an M&S across road) was not good - it was very chunky and rustic and not what I expect a club to be with layers of thin sandwich, egg etc. Sourdough was very hard when toasted so crusts inedible. Wouldn’t return for food. Setting lovely so I would go for drinks or coffee only.

Café en Seine
Responded on 23 July 2019

Hello Fintan, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service and food on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our customers an excellent experience so we are disappointed that we failed to do that on this occasion. We have taken your feedback on board so that we can ensure a similar instance does not reoccur. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies. Regards, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
LM
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We had a lovely late lunch on Saturday. Every staff member that served us was excellent and that really added to our afternoon. We really enjoyed the food and drinks. The atmosphere was great and we will be back again soon.

Café en Seine
Responded on 16 July 2019

Thank you for the review Leanne, we will pass it onto the team. Best wishes, Cafe En Seine

Report
JC
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great food (albeit some portions were quite small) great service, great atmosphere & great location! Would recommend to a friend.

Café en Seine
Responded on 16 July 2019

Thank you for the review Jean, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
HW
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 2Ambience 4

Food was absolutely fantastic!!! Service was ok but could have definitely been better and we felt extremely rushed as we were told after being seated that they needed the table back so if we wanted to order 3 courses we would need to order straight away, personal opinion, but I think it's awful to feel so rushed in a restaurant especially when catching up with people you havent seen in ages. Turns out that they didnt need the table back in the end but I wouldn't have been very pleased if we would have been moved from the table!

Café en Seine
Responded on 16 July 2019

Thank you for your feedback Hannah, we will pass it onto the team.

Report
SS
1 review
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 3Ambience 4

Unfortunately It took long to pay the bill. It can be quite noisy but on the other hand gives it a lot of atmospheres. I had a lovely birthday dinner with my family

Café en Seine
Responded on 16 July 2019

Thank you for the review Sinead, we're happy to hear you had a great birthday dinner. We look forward to seeing you next year for it! Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
N
1 review
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Great food and service altogether.. will definitely be back again!
The only downside was the restrooms.. maintenance required!

Café en Seine
Responded on 16 July 2019

Thank you for the review Nora. We will pass on your feedback to the team. Best wishes, Cafe En Seine

Report
C
Tampa
18 reviews
Dined on 8 July 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Cafe en Seine was very nice! Service was great and the facility is beautiful. The only disappointing thing is that my Mother is a Celiac and there were no Gluten Free Desserts for her. This is the second time this has happened and for such a great place it is a shame

Café en Seine
Responded on 16 July 2019

Thank you for the review. We will send your feedback regarding desserts onto the chefs. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
ND
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 7 July 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Wonderful redecorated Art Deco style restaurant. Wonderful waitress with a lot of humour. Unfortunately there was a large group of very loud Americans next to us when we just arrived, who felt the need to shout to each other over the table, while we were trying to have a nice normal dinner conversation. Would recommend!

Café en Seine
Responded on 23 July 2019

Thank you for the great review Nathalie, we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
JM
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 2Ambience 1

Very noisy place, seems to be mainly a large city centre bar with a restaurant as an after thought. Difficult to have a conversation.

We found some cling film in our starters and the staff did apologise but were not very genuine. They took the starter off the bill.

Overpriced for what it is, should go across the road to the Ivy.

Café en Seine
Responded on 9 July 2019

Hello Jonathan, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our customers an excellent experience so we are disappointed that we failed to do that on this occasion. We have taken your feedback on board so that we can ensure a similar instance does not reoccur. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies. Regards, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
MF
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 4Ambience 4

The initial experience was good until we got the bill. My friend asked for a slice of bread to mop up the prawn juice with her starter which cost €12 but we were then charged €5.00 extra for that slice of bread which made the meal seem very expensive! Then we agreed to leave the table to have tea/coffee at the end of the meal as they said our time was up at the table. We went into the cocktail bar, sat at a table with high stools and the waitress fell and split a large container of water all over myself. My clothes got wet and my bag and it contents got soaked. Only compensation was we did not have pay for the teas. Poor customer service. The least we could have been offered was a drink after what happened. Overall not a good experience. I won't be back.

Café en Seine
Responded on 9 July 2019

Hello Mary, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our customers an excellent experience so we are disappointed that we failed to do that on this occasion. We have taken your feedback on board so that we can ensure a similar instance does not reoccur. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies. Regards, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
AH
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 3Food 5Service 1Ambience 4

Food and surroundings are lovely. Service is appalling. Staff are so rude. We went to the cocktail bar after lunch and had to wait ages to be given a menu, we were ignored again before our order was finally taken. We then watched our cocktails sitting on the bar for ten minutes. Fair enough if the staff are super busy but a lot of them were standing chatting beside the drinks. We then walked over to lift them ourselves. The waiter got the hint then and begrudgingly brought them over. He then got them all mixed up so we had to figure out for ourselves which drink was which. Before we could even take a sip the same rude waiter appeared beside us with a bill and card machine grunting something about payment. Shame such poor staff let down such a lovely venue.

Café en Seine
Responded on 9 July 2019

Hello Alison, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our customers an excellent experience so we are disappointed that we failed to do that on this occasion. We have taken your feedback on board so that we can ensure a similar instance does not reoccur. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies. Regards, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
YS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

Fabulous night, brilliant service, lovely servers, great food and cocktails amazing. Ambience on fire. An amazing nite out.

Café en Seine
Responded on 9 July 2019

Thank you for the great review Yvette, we're happy to hear you had an amazing night out. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
A
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 5 July 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

My dining experience in cafe ensiene was superb. The staff was very welcoming, the ambiace was excellent for Celebrating the birthday of our good friend. The food was delicious and well presented. I would go back in the future.

Café en Seine
Responded on 9 July 2019

Thank you for the review Avril, we're glad you and your friend had a great dining experience. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
LJ
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 3Ambience 5

Absolutely fantastic restaurant the only negative I would say was the service was slow but it was busy

Café en Seine
Responded on 9 July 2019

Thank you for the review Lauren. We will pass on your feedback regarding the service onto the team. Best wishes, Cafe En Seine

Report
MM
4 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Outstanding meal here for my husbands birthday, lobster burger on specials board was INSANELY good & amazing value. Can’t wait to go back!

Café en Seine
Responded on 9 July 2019

We're happy to hear you and your husband had a great birthday meal Michelle. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future! Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent food and service. A far cry from the Cafe En Seine of old. Lovely ambiance

Café en Seine
Responded on 9 July 2019

Thank you for the great review! Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
J
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 28 June 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 2Ambience 3

Ordered burger with no mustard and no pickle with chips and fish and chips. When the burger came it was covered in mayonnaise, which was not one of the ingredients listed on the menu. My wife hates mayo so we had to send it back. The chips were not hot, were obviously lying around and so were warm and soft. Also they were small and bitty, the worse chips of any restaurant in that area. I had finished my lunch by the time my wife received her second, correct burger, which she did not finish. She said it tasted no better than a frozen one. Very disappointing meal!

Café en Seine
Responded on 3 July 2019

Hello John, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the food on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our customers an excellent experience so we are disappointed that we failed to do that on this occasion. We have taken your feedback on board so that we can ensure a similar instance does not reoccur. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies. Regards, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
AO
1 review
Dined on 26 June 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 3

Went for lunch with two others, we each had a main course and a glass of wine, then two of us had a dessert and a coffee each.

Table was booked for 12:15 and somehow it was just after 2:30 when two of us left as we had to dash, while the third waited to pay the bill.

The food was quite good, well presented too, and the staff were friendly. But somehow we ended up waiting approximately 35 minutes for the desserts, even though it was not particularly busy in the dining area where we were seated.

Having worked in the industry, I cannot for the life of me understand how this could happen. Whether a chef flipped out in the kitchen or they were going across town for the desserts, I don’t know.

The staff were apologetic and the coffees were taken off the bill I believe - I wasn’t there when it was paid as I had had to rush off, so I can’t say for sure.

While I would not recommend Café en Seine to a friend, I wouldn’t try to talk them out of going there either. It wasn’t a huge issue but a perplexing one, which cost us a fair bit of time.

Café en Seine
Responded on 3 July 2019

Hello Aidan, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our customers an excellent experience so we are disappointed that we failed to do that on this occasion. We have taken your feedback on board so that we can ensure a similar instance does not reoccur. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies. Regards, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
OW
Miami
3 reviews
Dined on 23 June 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 2Ambience 4

Sonntags Dinner nur bis 20 Uhr! Auswahl der Karte zu exotisch und nicht besonders. War einen Versuch wert

Café en Seine
Responded on 3 July 2019

Hello Oliver, Thank you for the feedback, it will be passed onto the Cafe En Seine team. Regards,

Report
s
1 review
Dined on 23 June 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

we had a drink at the bar first. very nice area. a 3 piece jazz band started up singing beautifully.
we were sorry we had to leave to go the restaurant for our meal. Food was tasty, but we sent back a starter of hummus and toasted ciabatta because the bread was burnt

Marta ? from Poland was an excellent server and very attentive

cafe en seine is very nice since it was renovated. especially the bar area. its bright and modern and you feel you are outside but yet inside. I will be back.

Siobhan

Café en Seine
Responded on 3 July 2019

Thank you for the review Siobhan, we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
MB
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Lovely fish chips and a cool
Crisp Pinot Grigio in beautiful surroundings 🤗

Café en Seine
Responded on 25 June 2019

Thank you for the review Mona. Best wishes, The Cafe En Seine team

Report
S
1 review
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 3

We were very disappointed with our experience here, the service in particular. We had to ask for a drinks menu and even after that no one approached us to take our order. We then had to ask for someone to take our order for drinks and food after over 30 minutes of waiting. The staff seemed to be very attentive to everyone else except for us. The food was very tasty, however we expected more from the cocktails, especially for the price. Given the option we would give 3.5 out of five as overall it was very average and therefore we wouldn’t be too keen to eat here again or recommend it.

Café en Seine
Responded on 3 July 2019

Hello Shannon, We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service on your recent visit. Our aim is to offer all of our customers an excellent experience so we are disappointed that we failed to do that on this occasion. We have taken your feedback on board so that we can ensure a similar instance does not reoccur. In the meantime, we hope you will accept our apologies. Regards, The Cafe en Seine Team

Report
H
1 review
Dined on 21 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

ignore previous reviews and sample for yourself, Great food, great service, great vibe, wonderful evening

1
2
3
6