FIRE Restaurant and Lounge

4.3
1084 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top tags:
  • Special Occasions
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Birthdays
Fire is located in the heart of Dublin in the popular Dawson St. area. Offering exclusive dining options in a historical dining room including the best private dining in Dublin. A mix of styles the current structure was built in 1891 as the Lord Mayor’s Supper Room. In the 20th Century, it was used as a cultural centre before returning to its original purpose of serving supper when it became a restaurant. The soaring ceilings of 19th century, stained glass windows and bronze sculptures are a few elements of this magnificent dining space. We pride ourselves on creating menus around locally sourced produce. Firmly committed to supporting sustainable local produce we serve the finest selection of meats and produce that Ireland has to offer. Our concept is very simple, take Ireland's finest raw ingredients and use original recipes to create exceptional dishes without getting too complicated.
What 1084 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
Food
4.2
Service
4.3
Ambience
3.9
Value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
MD
Portland
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 3

Everything very nice except we got charged for 2 beets even though we had asked to return the first one of them as the Lime juice used was too overpowering.

Report
Helpful
CA
Tampa
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 2Food 3Service 1Ambience 1

I was meeting an old college friend I haven’t seen in a year. It was the first time I went to Fire and I wouldn’t go back. The food was lovely a little overpriced but the service was annoying. We sat outside on the balcony at 6pm on a sunny evening and it was quiet only two other tables. The waiters I think there was 4 kept coming over and asking us to order. I nicely told the waiter I’d call him when we were ready but that just meant the other ones came over instead. It was very annoying and we felt so rushed we ordered, ate and left. My friend said she wouldn’t go back either. There are plenty of restaurants in Dublin with similar menu so I will just go there instead.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 4

The front of house downstairs, were so pleasant and friendly! But in the restaurant, was a completely different experience, which is a shame!

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

Great spot. Was fun. But they didn’t acknowledge my husband’s birthday even though it was all over the notes of the reservation. Others got a song and a mini dessert amenity with a candle in it. Just saying

Report
Helpful
j
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 5

Arrived to a lovely door host. Bar completely empty when we arrived, had to wait quite a while to order drinks. Cocktail was horrible and very syrupy. Barman flat and ignored us. Upstairs we waited ages to place our order. The girl who was serving us was clearly new and very under trained. She was very sweet and did her best. Waited over 45mins for our food, we only had mains. Vegetables came out and then we had to wait again for the steak to arrive. Food was good, but certainly not worth the wait. When bill arrived it was incorrect and we had been overcharged. For what was a romantic birthday dinner we left very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
AB
Cork
3 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

It was my friend’s big birthday and I wanted to take her somewhere special to mark the occasion. Great welcome, great and knowledgeable staff and oh wow the best rib-eye (my fave) steak I’ve eaten in Dublin without a doubt and I’ve eaten a lot of steaks in Dublin! Juicy, marbled, cooked to medium perfection! My friend isn’t a dessert eater, I tried and failed but our lovely waitress brought her a lil dessert complete with a happy birthday message written in chocolate and a candle! Perfect touch - thank you so much.

I would recommend Fire for occasions or everyday dining just because of the superb service & food, I’d pay a bit more for this.

Report
Helpful
KC
New York Area
41 reviews
Dined on 14 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Food was a little pricey, but was excellent, as was the service we received.

Report
Helpful
s
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2019
Overall 1Food 3Service 1Ambience 2

Quite possibly the worst service I’ve ever received at a restaurant in my life. I had to at multiple times ask the manager to get service at our table. After numerous complaints still got charged full pop. Was shocked that even dessert and/or coffee was comped even after multiple apologies from different managers. A truly disappointing experience all around.

Report
Helpful
OT
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on 13 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent service, attentive staff and amazing food. Would recommend to anyone visiting Dublin

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 14 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit with us here at Fire Restaurant & Lounge at the Mansion House. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to us soon. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We had a wonderful evening at FIRE. Food was brilliant and so was the service. The staff were so attentive and added lovely details to our nights which was a birthday. Thank you for your kindness.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 14 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit with us here at Fire Restaurant & Lounge at the Mansion House. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to us soon. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
LD
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 5Ambience 4

unfortunately i had wouldnt recommend. I had wanted to go to the fire restaurant for so long and the food just wasn't great. table service was amazing the girl looking after our table couldn't do enough and was super friendly

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Thoroughly enjoyed the food but paying for water is annoying and would be the difference between us returning and not. €5.50 per bottle of water!!

Report
Helpful
LM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 12 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Food great service great bit disappointed with after dinner drinks no port no desert wine no cointreau but really enjoyed the experience you looked after my daughter it was her birthday thank you

Report
Helpful
TC
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 12 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Service was brilliant from the greeting to the waitress serving us (Sadbh prob spelled incorrectly) She was friendly and professional. The food was lovely. There was enough time between courses but not to long. Steak in Particular was fantastic. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
JS
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 7 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Went to Dublin for my birthday weekend, this was booked as my birthday meal, absolutely beautiful food, amazing cocktails and the staff were lovely! Will be returning on our next visit

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 14 April 2019

Dear JessicaS, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit with us here at Fire Restaurant & Lounge at the Mansion House. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant and that we were able to make your birthday a special one. We hope to welcome you back to us soon. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
M
Atlanta
13 reviews
Dined on 7 April 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 4Ambience 5

Messed up two dry aged filets. Came out super rare then both came back well done after being sent back. Very dissatisfied.

Report
Helpful
JG
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 7 April 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 5Ambience 5

It is our second time here. We come to Dublin on business. The problem were the main courses. I had the chicken., which was less than ordinary. Actually, the chicken was better on the plane the next day.
My partner’s steak had no flavor .

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 14 April 2019

Dear JayG, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit with us here at Fire Restaurant & Lounge at the Mansion House. I'm disappointed to see that you did not enjoy the main courses and I'd like to apologise if you felt that the main courses were lacking flavour. I have passed on your constructive feedback to our Culinary team. I hope this does not deter you from joining us in the future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 1Food 2Service 1Ambience 2

Appalling, completely disorganized service.

Report
Helpful
AM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Lovely atmosphere
Food was very tasty
Found the drinks menu expensive

Report
Helpful
TM
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

I've been coming back here every year for the past 4 years. Every time they have exceeded my expectations with the food, the service, and atmosphere. A great experience overall. I highly recommend this restaurant.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 14 April 2019

Dear TonyM, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit with us here at Fire Restaurant & Lounge at the Mansion House. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant. I'd like to personally thank you for your continued loyalty and It's been a pleasure for us to have you back with us again. We hope to welcome you back to us soon. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
S
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 3Ambience 4

Very mixed review as have eaten here a few times.

When we were seated we waited sometime for a waitress. She took our drink order but took the food menus away. We had to get these back as we hadn’t looked yet.
Ordered drinks with dessert and we received whiskey rather then ameretto which was a surprise when drinking!

When we went down for a drink afterwards the bar was hectic with very few staff. When I did get served they had no wine glassses and the staff member had to run upstairs which took about ten mins.

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 4 April 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

Lovely evening, great food though a little expensive. Really friendly staff, with a really warm welcome from Sarah Wong.

Report
Helpful
JS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 4 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Love this restaurant. Always go when in Dublin. Arrive early for a drink in the bar before going to the table.
Staff very attentive and the food is excellent.
Steaks are cooked to perfection

Report
Helpful
L
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 4 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Absolutely superb from start to finish .. cannot wait to return
Thank you

Report
Helpful
TD
1 review
Dined on 3 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Twas good. We were on holiday and dressed a bit too casually but the staff made us feel perfectly comfortable and the 2 teens we had with us loved it. They were challenging each other to try new items off the menu (Nettle Soup.. Who would have thought!). Very nice and highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
RJ
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 3

Yes I would recommend it. I would only comment that we had to wait 30 minutes for our table (I appreciate it was Mothers day) so it meant we didn't get our table until 17.30 which meant we weren't sure if we could order the roast. We asked a waiter when we sat down however they never came back so we ordered of the normal menu

Report
Helpful
TL
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Brought my wife for the Sunday brunch on mother’s day, it was excellent. I’ve already decided I’m going back for my birthday later in the year.

Report
Helpful
CR
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We were with you for Mother’s Day. The service as always was great from the moment we arrived. We had a fabulous waitress. More importantly my mother loved it.

Report
Helpful
G
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Started in the lounge with a drink before being seated, very good atmosphere and the staff were excellent.

Sat in a busier part of the restaurant but didn't effect the meal/experience what so ever, food and wine were both excellent and service was amazing.

Would defiantly return and have recommended to friends and colleagues.

Report
Helpful
LO
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 3

Food was delicious however my steak was very fatty. the wine was great value for money. However the restaurant was very noisy and extremely busy. We had a reservation for 2 and were at a table at the back and were so close to the group of 4 next to use they may as well put us all together. The noise in the place is unbelievable, you can barely hear eachother with the big groups of birthdays and tourists. We tried to have a drink in the bar afterwards but it was too full and there were no seats so we left.
The set menu is great value for money.

Report
Helpful
RB
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

A fabulous meal in a lovely setting. Would recommend to try. Good for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
GC
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

Perfect place for a special occasion. Highly recommended. Great food, but would be lovely to see more vegetarian options.

Report
Helpful
A
London
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent food, wine & atmosphere, highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 29 March 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 3Ambience 5

Very good menu and ambience. Helpful staff, however waiting 1hour 10 mins for first service.

Report
Helpful
JD
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on 28 March 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 4

Our table wasn’t ready at the time of our reservation. The staff wasn’t friendly. The steak was well done when we ordered a medium. Our other food order was forgettable. Never going back and do not recommend it.

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 28 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great food and nice setting.

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 28 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

The food was absolutely beautiful as always and the service from the staff was top class.

We mentioned to the hostess who greeted us that we were there to celebrate our engagement, and at the end of the night, our server brought us over a complimentary congratulatory dessert.

Report
Helpful
DL
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 27 March 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 2Ambience 3

If you want overpriced, over cooked and under seasoned food, this is your place! Shrimp app was rubber. Sauce on the steak had virtually no seasoning. Fish cakes were the texture of mash with little flavor and seasoning. Service was poor. We had to ask three times for wine. The server told me the salmon couldn’t be cooked medium rare, and that salmon was only cooked the way the chef wanted it. The a gentleman stopped by the table to ask if I wanted the salmon pink. I said yes, and he said no problem. Hence, poorly trained servers. All in all, not well done. Too bad we went to Etto a few weeks earlier and had superb food with excellent service at a better price. We also went to The Greenhouse. Same street, different price but no where near the same league.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 29 March 2019

Dear DeniseL, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us, I'd like to sincerely apologize for your experience and if I had known you were not happy with your food, I'd have gone above and beyond to rectify it. I hope this does not deter you from joining us in the future. Please contact myself when booking next time and I'll ensure you will leave with a better impression of us. Kind Regards Jibin Rest. Manager

Report
Helpful
GS
N. Ireland
1 review
Dined on 26 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

From the minute we arrived until we left the service was fantastic. Taken to our table after cocktails downstairs and the waiting staff looked after us the whole time. Nothing was a problem for them. Loved every minute of the evening and will definitely be back on our next visit to Dublin.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 24 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

First time in Fire And Lounge restaurant and loved the full experience. Staff was very friendly and they have a smooth operation. The food was stunning. My date had the firewood prawns and I had the lamb. Both delicious. Of course this restaurant is in a higher price segment. But you pay for a really good evening.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28