Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin

4.4
1267 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€31 to €50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasions
A glasshouse restaurant, where the weather is our wallpaper. We serve breakfast and dinner 7 days a week. We do lunch on weekdays and brunch at the weekend.

Our New York – Italian menu is simple and delicious. Meats, fish, vegetables, fruits, herbs and dairy delivered daily by local suppliers. The restaurant vibe changes from a laid back sunrise through a buzzing sunset. A view like no other in Dublin, cityscape to countryside. No fuss, no formality, book a table and enjoy.

Sophie’s Bar is at the very heart of our rooftop restaurant. Pull up a stool and get comfortable at any time, day or night to take in the incredible views of the Dublin skyline while our amazing team of bartenders create a world-class cocktail for you.

Head out to our Rooftop Terrace, where we have sun loungers when it’s hot, blankets and heaters when it’s not.
What 1267 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
Food
4.4
Service
4.5
Ambience
4.0
Value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall 3Food 4Service 4Ambience 3

A little bit too noisy. Food was great.

Report
Helpful
BC
Miami
4 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall 3Food 4Service 3Ambience 2

Breakfast was good, although it was let down a bit by the cleanliness of the floors and seats, and having to chase people for water.

Report
Helpful
LH
London
6 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

The food is up there with the best - very tasty, good variety, generous portion sizes. We loved Sophie's so much we went three times in a four day trip!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 14 July 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

I was recently at Sophie’s for brunch. The food was amazing on their brunch menu, everyone was very happy, could possibly had more vegetarian or vegan options. Staff we’re lovely and very accommodating. It was a friends baby shower and the staff surprised her with a candle and some ice cream after our meal, which was a lovely touch. Unfortunately I had booked for 2.30pm and was not informed that the kitchen closes on a Sunday at 3pm so we were rushed by staff to order our food. Overall a lovely experience with amazing views of the city.

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded 6 days ago

Hi there, so happy you enjoyed the brunch at Sophie's & that you had a nice time here with us celebrating you friends baby shower. Hope we get to see you again in the future, The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
GC
3 reviews
Dined on 14 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

It's a lovely daytime hangout with loads of natural light and a hell of a view. Me and my buddies absolutely enjoyed the vibe, delicious food and friendly service.

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded 4 days ago

Hi there, thank you so much for visiting Sophie's & for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! So happy you & your friends enjoyed the vibe, the food & the service, that's everything we aim for here great to hear we are hitting our mark. Hope we get to see you again soon! The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Nice and friendly place to have brunch. Good GinTonic at the terrace!

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded 6 days ago

Hi there, thanks for the nice review! See you again soon, The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
CC
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Incredibly fast and very welcoming service.
Fantastic food and great ambience.

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded 6 days ago

Hey Conor, thanks for the great review! See you again soon... The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
TB
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 11 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

I'm a regular lunchtime user and have no hesitation in giving Sophie's a very high recommendation. The staff are great. The food is excellent and is quickly prepared and served, which is important for business lunch when time is at a premium. The ambience and views from this stunning restaurant count among the best in Dublin. Don't use the swing unless you've read the instructions first!

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Tony, thank you so much for the amazing review really means a lot to us! So great when you hear this from a regular cause it means we keep hitting the mark we're aiming for. Thanks again, look forward to welcoming you back, The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
DR
1 review
Dined on 10 July 2019
Overall 1Food 4Service 1Ambience 3

We booked a table for dinner and drinks and we shared main starters and pizzas and purchased multiple drinks. The waitress came over to us numerous times and told us that we were not welcome there as we had not ordered a main course each. If this was the case then it should have been put in the terms of the booking on open table when I made the booking. The waitress really made us feel very unwelcome and uncomfortable. We would have stayed and ordered more drinks and food but we decided to leave due to the unpleasant atmosphere created by the staff.

Report
Helpful
AO
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on 9 July 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 1Ambience 3

Extremely Disappointing .

Arrived at 5 : 30 pm , the restaurant looked to be at about 10% capacity . We asked could we sit at one of the 10 empty booths along the wall . We were told no as they are for parties of 3 more and they were all reserved anyway. When we left at 7pm eight of the ten booths were still empty . Another couple who arrived after us made the same request and got the same answer so 2 bookings have to sit in seats they don't like while looking at seats they would like remaining empty for the whole time they are there. Not the end of the world at least the dinner should be good no matter where your sitting.

We ordered starters and a main course of steak. The waitress was rude and argumentive when my partner asked for it to be cooked well done. She was told if she wanted it well done it could be very tough and hard to eat.
I interjected and told her it was to be cooked well done . Her response to me in a somewhat abrupt manner was " well I'm just letting you know it could be too tough ". I think its surreal your asked how you like it cooked only for the waitress to absolve the restaurant in advance of the responsibility that it might be inedible.

The starter of crispy prawns were not crispy but soggy . My Fillet of beef ordered medium came medium rare which I could have gotten over but for the fact it wasn't hot . As it was barely warm the rawness of the meat did not taste very nice.

2 starters , 2 mains , 4 drinks E124

A dinner that wasn't nice served by someone who wasn't friendly or helpful and an evening wasted.

Informed the person in charge we were not happy and it was our first and last visit .

( The bread was nice and the Barman was friendly )

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 8 July 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 2Ambience 5

Service was spotty but the views are fabulous and the food excellent.

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 7 July 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 2Ambience 2

The food was average and overpriced. Iv gone there for drinks and rrwllh

Report
Helpful
A
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 7 July 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 2Ambience 3

We waited 40 minutes for the food, that was really overrated ...

Report
Helpful
SS
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 7 July 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Very pleasant staff, good choices on the menu, the ambience was perfect for a Sunday afternoon chilled yet lively. Thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Report
Helpful
NB
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The best restaurant in Dublin, the food, the attention and the ambient was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
LB
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent evening, great food, service and atmosphere. Looking forward to the next visit!

Report
Helpful
K
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

We were running late due to traffic and they kindly still had our table. We did miss the lunch menu, but the pizza was still very good. Drinks and staff, both great.

Report
Helpful
J
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Very enjoyable experience. Great food, setting and service and the swing wasn't too bad either :)

Report
Helpful
PS
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 4

The environment is lovely, really beautiful views of Dublin. The staff are great very very friendly and helpful but the food was delayed for over an hour which was a long wait between starter and main.

Report
Helpful
CA
London
1 review
Dined on 2 July 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 2

Definitely not value for money. Decor poor compared to photographs. Food was ok but nothing special. Staff were not that friendly or welcoming. Overall disappointing

Report
Helpful
SR
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 2Ambience 4

Amazing views and beautiful restaurant. The drinks were so good. The only really negative is the staff. I read about how the waiters were not very friendly on Yelp. And that was true, if they could work on that , that was pretty much the only negative. Foods was great. My steak was a little over cooked for medium well. But overall I would come back .

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 4 July 2019

Hi there, thanks for visiting & for taking the time out to leave a review. Sorry to hear you were a little let down by the staff friendliness have to say we never really hear that compliant, the guys here are normally so sound. Hope that we get the chance some time in the future to show you what we are really about. The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

Wonderful service and food. Lovely atmosphere and setting. We will definitely be back!!

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 4 July 2019

Hi, thanks so much for the nice review, we look forward to seeing you again! The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
LH
London
4 reviews
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent brunch had by all. Each chose something different and all commented on quality and flavour. Highly recommend

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 4 July 2019

Hey Lisa, thanks so much for the fantastic review & the wonderful feedback. Delighted you enjoyed everything, see you again soon. The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
SM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Had a lovely brunch with a friend and her small child, waiters were very kind... would recommend!!

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 4 July 2019

Hi Susan, thanks so much for the lovely feedback, I'm glad to hear the guys looked after you nicely! We'll see you again soon! The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
BF
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great experience here food was amazing staff friendly and great service

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 4 July 2019

Hi Barry, so happy you enjoyed everything & that the staff were so friendly & amazing!! That is fantastic to hear! Hope we get to see you again soon, The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
JH
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great food, great setting and service with a smile. Definitely a must visit when visiting Dublin. You will not be disappointed.

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 4 July 2019

Hi John, thanks for the brilliant review! Really appreciate it. Look forward to seeing you again in the future, The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
CG
1 review
Dined on 28 June 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 4Ambience 4

Really enjoyed our meal at Sophie's. Amazing view, delicious food and really great service. The bar is lovely and on a Friday night, perhaps a touch too loud for those tables booked later on, might be fairer on them to start the DJ set later. The DJ kept walking between our table and the windows which was a bit annoying and felt like he was intruding a bit on our night, but minor negative, in a very positive evening.

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 4 July 2019

Hi there, thank you for visiting with us & for taking the time to leave us a nice review. I'll mention it to the guys here about the DJ times thanks for the feedback on it. Glad you enjoyed everything else, hope we get to see you again in the future, The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 27 June 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

We loved the steak but the view from the rooftop is not that great (but that’s not your fault). Overall it was a good experience and want to come back!

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 4 July 2019

Hi there, thanks so much for visiting & for the lovely review. Look forward to welcoming you back to Sophie's, The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
MP
Montreal
5 reviews
Dined on 27 June 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 2Ambience 3

The view is alright. The food was so-so when i was there. Seafood pasta wasn’t al-dente and seafood quality was average considering the price. My dad had a pizza and the temperature could be hotter. It can be a good place for drinks but i’m mot sure about the food.

Report
Helpful
EM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 26 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Food and Views were excellent!. Waitress was very friendly and attentive. Good night

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 1 July 2019

Hi Eoin, thanks so much for the lovely review so glad you enjoyed it! See you again soon, Wayne

Report
Helpful
JE
Des Moines
1 review
Dined on 26 June 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 4Ambience 3

We arrived a little before the lunch hour rush so we were seated quickly at a table. The table wobbled considerably, but the waitress helped by shoving a wine cork under it to make it more stable. The soup I had was delicious. The pasta was good, but the mushroom risotto seemed like it could of been cooked a little longer and been more flavorful. The cappuccino and espresso we had were very delicious as well. The restaurant filled up over the lunch hour and became pretty loud, but it did have a view of the city of Dublin that was neat to see.

Report
Helpful
m
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Fabulous food ,atmosphere & staff......planning the next visit already:)

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 4 July 2019

Hi there, thank you so much for the great review! Amazing to hear you are planning another visit that means a lot to us, it really does. Looking forward to welcoming you back, The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
TG
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

I found your menu excellent as a recently diagnosed coeliac it’s been a struggle to find places with clear and concise allergen details

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 27 June 2019

Hi Taryn, so happy we could accommodate your dietary requirements, the guys in our kitchen really are dedicated to making sure we can look after everybody who comes to Sophie's. Thank you so much for visiting Sophie's, hope we see you again sometime. The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
SO
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Great venue, great service, great food. Will definitely be back

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 27 June 2019

Hi Sarah, thanks for the great review, look forward to seeing you again soon! The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
D
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We had a fantastic brunch with 3 friends from Glasgow. Great views, very friendly service and the food was excellent. I would have liked there to be an option to omit or add to parts of the fry and our beans never arrived but they are very small things that in now way took away from a great dining experience. We look forward to a return visit soon.

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 27 June 2019

Hi there, thanks for coming in for brunch with us in Sophie's sorry about your missing beans!! Really glad you enjoyed it though we look forward to welcoming you back. The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
L
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 21 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The food was delicious, the service was great. Overall a really great night out, thank you Sophie’s!

Report
Helpful
s
London
2 reviews
Dined on 21 June 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 1Ambience 4

Food terrible. Found a hair in my food and just wasn’t overall impressed

Report
Helpful
ZP
London
2 reviews
Dined on 19 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great service. Amazing food. I’d go back next time I’m in Dublin

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 26 June 2019

Hi there, thanks for the brilliant review! Look forward to seeing you next time you are in Dublin! The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 18 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Lovely food and really nice service

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 25 June 2019

Hi, thanks so much for the nice review. The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
AG
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 18 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Wonderful staff, delicious food and incredible cocktails

Sophie's @ The Dean Dublin
Responded on 25 June 2019

Hi there, thank you so much for visiting Sophie's & for taking the time to leave us a great review. See you again in the future, The Sophie's Team

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32