Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. Ireland, Republic of
  3. Dublin
  4. Dublin 4
  5. Ballsbridge
The Lobby Lounge & The Reading Room, Dublin, Co Dublin

The Lobby Lounge & The Reading Room

4.3
4.3
185 reviews
€31 to €50
Lounge
The heart of the hotel and effortless in style, The Lobby Lounge is the perfect venue for All-Day Dining and Afternoon Tea to reconnect with friends and family. Newly refurbished, enjoy understated elegance with a stylish atmosphere with the most luxurious surroundings flooded with natural daylight from our Terrace Gardens.

Enjoy our All day dining Lobby Lounge Menu with signature sandwiches, healthy salads or some of your favourite comfort dishes. Our Express Lunch dining option is perfect for a quick bite Monday to Friday.

Catch up with friends or family, sip a chilled glass of Champagne or sample your favourite cocktail made by our Mixologists and watch the world go by in laidback five-star luxury. Every Friday and Saturday evening from 7pm to 9pm enjoy our resident Pianist while you unwind into the weekend.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 4 times today
Experiences are available.

Additional information

Experiences

  • Afternoon Tea

    €62.00 per person

    Multiple dates available
    Afternoon Tea at InterContinental Dublin has become a longstanding tradition with Dubliners as well as visitors to the city. It is a special occasion where guests can savour the finest food in the most stunning surroundings. It is the ideal way to indulge yourself for a special occasion or to just catch up with family and friends. In our Lobby Lounge and Reading Room, you can enjoy a selection of delicious finger sandwiches, freshly baked scones and decadent pastries created by our award-winning chefs while overlooking our stunning courtyard. *Please note that Afternoon Tea must be booked at least 24 hours in advance. Should you have any dietary requirements please leave a note or contact the Restaurant in advance of your booking.
    Afternoon Tea photo

What 185 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.3
4.3 based on recent ratings
  • 4.2Food
  • 4Service
  • 4.5Ambience
  • 3.9Value

NoiseModerate

Diners' Choice Awards

  • Dublin 4

    Best Ambience

  • Dublin 4

    Great for brunch

  • Dublin 4

    Great for creative cocktails

  • Dublin 4

    Great for fine wines

  • Dublin 4

    Good for special occasions

191 Reviews
  1. OpenTable Diner

    San Diego

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 30 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We stayed at the Intercontinental, so this restaurant was very convenient. Food and drinks were good. A little pricey compared to where you can go elsewhere but it’s within the Intercontinental, so it’s expected. Ambience was great. Comfortable seating with great decor. Also had a pianist playing music Saturday night, which was a nice touch
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 8 April 2024
    Dear Anonymous Thank you for taking out taking your time to write to us about your pleasant visit to the Lobby Lounge. I am very glad to hear that you had enjoyed the food and the ambience of the Lobby Lounge. I will make sure to share your lovely feedback among our team members. Looking forward to welcoming you back with us. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov, Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  2. Rosie

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 30 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    The great thing about dinning in the lobby lounge and reading room is service is great food excellent and most off you can relax and enjoy because you are never rushed to give up your table ....
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 1 April 2024
    Dear Rosie Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your experience whilst dining at The Lobby Lounge. It is very pleasing to hear that you had enjoyed the food and the service in the Reading Room. We look forward to welcoming you back with us. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov, Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  3. OpenTable Diner

    New York City

    1 review

    vip
    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 24 March 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    The food at this hotel is very poor. I suspect they will not hire an excellent chef as the main dining room was never open during our 3 night stay. The food served in the lobby lounge seems to have been ordered from a food catalogue. Examples: Dover sole, no head, tail or side fins, most definitely not fresh from fish market.€50. Lamb cutlets badly overcooked, so tough they were hard to chew €48. Side green salad was not fresh, same with lettuce in prawn cocktail and ‘dressed’ crab. Desserts were not made in hotel kitchen. Would advise eating out. Breakfast good but not excellent. We also tried afternoon tea €65pp and had to send it back - stale cakes and sandwiches not made with fresh bread that day. A real pity because rooms, wait staff, spa and pool all very good. Not having a reputable chef who cooks rather than warms in the kitchen is a very false economy.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 1 April 2024
    Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking your time to write to us about your experience. It is very disappointing to hear you did not enjoy the food whilst staying with us at The Intercontinental Dublin. We are going to take this time to review your opinion with the Back of The House team and come up with a solution for the future. I appreciate hearing that you have enjoyed the waiting staff and other facilities at the hotel. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor.

    1 person found this helpful

  4. OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 3 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 5
    The service was very slow despite not being a lot of tables busy. They didn’t serve the tea, the pots were very hot.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 11 March 2024
    Dear Anonymous Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your experience with us at The Lobby Lounge. It is very disappointing to hear that the service was slow and the tea was not served for you. I will take this time to look into our operations on that specific day to find out why this had happened to you. We will aim to do a better job as a team to make your next stay with us much better. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  5. FelicityF

    Dublin

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 18 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    A lovely Sunday lunch with family. Food was superb. Great quality and hot. Service was very good and most accomodating.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 19 February 2024
    Dear FelcityF, Thank you for taking your time to write to us about your experience with us at The Lobby Lounge. I am very glad to hear that you had enjoyed both the food and the service that was provided for your family on Sunday. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  6. MichealO

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food and a lovely relaxed ambience. Definitely recommend it!
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 29 February 2024
    Dear MichaelO Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your experience with us at The Lobby Lounge. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and the ambience whilst dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  7. MichealO

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 3 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Beautiful and relaxing ambience and excellent food!
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear MichaelO Thank you for taking your time to tell us your recent experience with us at The Intercontinental Dublin. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us at Lobby Lounge. We will share your compliments to the culinary team. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  8. MarDee

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 2 January 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    We found the decor good. The staff were fairly good but the food was only fair and the prices were astronomical.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear MarDee Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you appreciated the festive décor of the hotel and the service of our team. Although, I am saddened to hear that the food was fair and the prices were astronomical. We value your feedback and will take this opportunity to review our prices within our operations. Best Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  9. KathyS

    London

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 December 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely setting and ambience but disappointing cakes selection with the afternoon tea and we had to send both tea and coffee back to be remade Having spent a lot of money (5 afternoon teas plus champagne / cocktails ) very disappointing to then have to pay for the parking. Reception would not validate our ticket.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear KathyS Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience with us at The Lobby Lounge. I am saddened to hear that our selection of afternoon tea cakes and the coffees was not up to your satisfaction. I would like to inform you that we change our offerings every quarter or depending on certain events and holidays. I will address your review to our Culinary team to make more variety of improvements when we changed our menu. I will share your feedback on the car parking fee with our Front Office Team. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  10. FionaT

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really lovely atmosphere with the piano man who played happy birthday for my son. Outstanding service - big shout out for Ruben that young man has a great future in the restaurant business.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear FionaT We appreciate your time sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us at the Lobby Lounge. We are glad to hear that Ruben made a great impression to you and your entire family as we pride ourselves on delivering great service. We appreciate the good comment about his future as we pursue our employees to do their best at all times. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  11. OpenTable Diner

    New York City

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 December 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    The service was shocking. The food was just ok. A shame
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear Anonymous Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at The Intercontinental Dublin. I’m saddened to hear that the service you received was shocking as we pride ourselves on delivering the best experience for our guests. We value your feedback and we will make this as an opportunity to review our service standards of our operations. Please let me know on next time you plan to return to us and I will make sure that you’ll be looked after. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor.

    Is this helpful?

  12. catherinet

    Dublin

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 17 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 5
    Very atmospheric. Service very slow Staff very pleasant
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear CatherineNet, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at The Lobby Lounge of InterContinental Dublin. I am happy to know that you enjoyed the atmosphere and our pleasant staff members. I will address your feedback to our team to deliver fast yet efficient service to all our guests. Kind regards, John Erickson The Lobby Lounge and Bar Manager

    Is this helpful?

  13. EvylnS

    Dublin

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 10 December 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    Ambience is lovely, beautiful Xmas decorations and comfortable seating. Food was excellent. Service lets it down, started well with female server. Staff changed over and plates not cleared and staff avoid eye contact when you are trying to get service. One good male server who was pleasant and helpful , but everyone called on him.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear EvylynS Thank you for taking time out of your day to write this review about your experience at The Lobby Lounge. I am happy to know that you appreciated the ambiance, comfortable seating and the festive décor of the hotel. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the food although it is very disappointing to know that the service has let you down. It is absolutely unacceptable that you were not acknowledged by our staff and I will address this matter among my team members and review our training measures. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  14. MaryO

    Dublin

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 7 December 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    Beautiful hotel, stunning decoration which added to Christmas spirit. Service very poor and afternoon tea not u to standard. Very poor choice of savouries, 2 scones is a cop out and sweets choices very disappointing
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear MaryO Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience with us at The Lobby Lounge. I am very happy to hear that you appreciated the festive décor of the hotel. I am saddened to hear that our afternoon tea's selection of savories and the scones was not up to your satisfaction. I would like to inform you that we change our offerings every quarter or depending on certain events and holidays. I will address your review to our Culinary team to make more variety of improvements when we changed our menu. We will take this opportunity to improve our service standards by training our team members on this matter. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  15. NasM

    London

    32 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    32 reviews

    Dined on 16 November 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    lovely atmosphere for afternoon tea and/or a quick bite drinks are lovely, cocktails mixed to perfection and service was good
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear NasM Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at The Lobby Lounge. It is great to hear that you had enjoyed our afternoon tea selection along with the cocktails curated by our bartenders. I will make sure to share on your compliments to our team at The Intercontinental Dublin. We are hoping to welcome you back with our great service. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  16. TomC

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 12 November 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Beautiful ambiance. The live piano was outstanding. The service and food were fantastic. Very friendly and efficient staff.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear TomC Thank you for taking your time to write how you enjoyed your time here with us at The Lobby Lounge. I am very glad to hear that you were satisfied the food and service you have experienced whilst dining with us. We always aim to deliver best experience for our guests so it is very rewarding to hear that you enjoyed it. We are looking forward to welcoming your back. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov

    Is this helpful?

  17. IreneH

    New York City

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 November 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Delightful lunch and I appreciated being able to get a vegetarian entree with the Express lunch.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear IreneH I am thrilled to hear that you had a delightful lunch here with us at The Lobby Lounge. We always try to accommodate all the guests with their specific dietary requirements. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Best Wishes, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  18. TimB

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 November 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The venue is a very nice place to enjoy a relaxing lunch.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear TimB I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed visiting the lounge for a nice relaxing lunch. We are hoping to welcome you back some time soon. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  19. NasM

    London

    32 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    32 reviews

    Dined on 8 November 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    lovely ambience and friendly service - always a pleasure to eat in these surroundings
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 9 February 2024
    Dear Nasm Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at The Lobby Lounge. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the ambience and the friendly service you received whilst dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Lounge. Kind Regards, Pavel Nikeryasov Lobby Lounge Supervisor

    Is this helpful?

  20. EmmaVee21

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 21 October 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A delicious afternoon tea service with excellent service.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 25 October 2023
    Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your experience with us. I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your time with us and the team will be just as delighted to see you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea Experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards, Carla Kennedy Assistant Food and Beverage Director.

    Is this helpful?

  21. Mazoo

    Mexico City

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 6 October 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Nice atmosphere, service, food and music are incredible.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 25 October 2023
    Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your experience with us. I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards, Carla Kennedy Assistant Food and Beverage Director.

    Is this helpful?

  22. Codo

    Dublin

    4 reviews

    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 8 September 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    The service is very slow and not very confident… more training required… had to put tablecloth on table myself… waiter very unsure of himself. Having worked in hospitality more confidence and consideration needs to be honed into waiting staff… garden was gorgeous and food lovely but would have preferred something unique for the menu rather than just burgers and sandwiches…

    Is this helpful?

  23. OpenTable Diner

    New Mexico

    9 reviews

    4.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on 29 August 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    I liked the oysters and pasta of the day Fillet lacked flavor
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 6 September 2023
    Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your time sharing your feedback regarding your recent dining experience with us. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our oysters and pasta of the day. I've shared your feedback to our kitchen team regarding the fillet steak. We get great reviews on this normally so this feedback will make us thrive for better quality and flavor. Cordially, John Erickson Lobby Lounge & Bar Manager

    Is this helpful?

  24. BarbaraM

    London

    4 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 26 August 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 1
    The lobby lounge was less than a quarter full. It was chilly as the front door was left standing open. The piano player RUINED the atmosphere with his booming playing on the piano. Far far too loud - we couldn’t hear each other speak. Why can’t you just play some cool jazz background music. Go visit the Doyle hotel in london called the Kensington - that’s how to do music in a hotel. I’d say the lobby lounge would be far busier if you got rid of the piano player. In the meantime I would close the piano lid to muffle the sound slightly and ask him to play quietly. We’re not going to a concert, we’re going for a bite to eat!! Also ask him to take some breaks!! He seemed to play non stop for 90 minutes. We eventually had to ask to be moved to the Reading room. Ambience = cold and noisy
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 6 September 2023
    Dear BarbaraM, Thank you for your time sharing your feedback regarding your recent dinner experience with us. We truly value this review as an opportunity to improve our food quality (soup/bread) and make the necessary adjustments with our pianist's volume and music selection. More than ever, I'm delighted to know that amidst the above-mentioned concerns, our Lobby Lounge associates have well-looked after you. Cordially, John Erickson Lobby Lounge & Bar Manager

    Is this helpful?

  25. ClaudioDJ

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 August 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    great experience and really beautifully decorated lounge. My only request would to have an option for more sandwiches than sweets but that’s only because by the end we were all sugared out.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 6 September 2023
    Dear ClaudioDJ, Thank you for your time commending our well-decorated Lobby Lounge. You have truly recognized the efforts we exerted to make our Lobby Lounge presentable. Also, we truly value your feedback as an opportunity to review and improve our sandwiches and sweets selections Cordially, John Erickson Lobby Lounge & Bar Manager

    Is this helpful?

  26. Lepo

    Dublin

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 August 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    Sat for almost 20-minutes waiting to be served, after which one of us went to the bar to get drinks, then had to get a servers attention to order food. Servers not very attentive - In the time that we were seated and waiting to order, two tables who came in after us were looked after. No one around when looking to settle the bill either. Unfortunate as service has previously been great here, especially on match days. Food came out quickly though, and was pretty tasty but quite pricey for what you get.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 6 September 2023
    Dear Lepo, Thank you for your time sharing your feedback regarding your recent dining experience with us. We are saddened to hear that you weren't served attentively during a busy rugby match weekend. We truly value this review as an opportunity to train our team with great focus on efficiency and attentiveness. Henceforth, I'm delighted to know that amidst the above-mentioned concerns, you liked our food offerings. Cordially, John Erickson Lobby Lounge & Bar Manager

    Is this helpful?

  27. Derek75

    Orlando

    12 reviews

    5.0

    12 reviews

    Dined on 2 August 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A wonderful dinner in a beautiful setting! Excellent service and delicious food.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 6 September 2023
    Dear Derek75, Thank you for commending our beautiful setting, excellent service and delicious food. We always strive for improvement and your feedback have truly given us an opportunity to be consistent with it. Cordially, John Erickson Lobby Lounge & Bar Manager

    Is this helpful?

  28. karlD

    New York City

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 July 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Amazing service, beautiful room and delicious tea experience
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 1 August 2023
    Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your experience with us. I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards, Carla Kennedy Assistant Food and Beverage Director.

    Is this helpful?

  29. DaleC

    Dublin

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 29 July 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Very nice atmosphere and nice staff. Ordered a fillet steak with king prawns and the steak was awful and the prawns were cold. I didn’t eat any of it and informed the waitress who in turn informed the manager. He then apologised and offered me a free desert. Absolutely shocking they I was still charged for the steak and prawns. It was our fourth year wedding anniversary and my wife had to share her fish and chips with me. Which just isn’t acceptable. The hotel is beautiful and I would probably stay again but I would certainly never dine there again.

    Is this helpful?

  30. LuisA

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 July 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    The piano music was a bit too intrusive upbeat, would prefer some relaxed Jazz piano music.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 1 August 2023
    Hi Luisa, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your experience with us. I do apologise that you felt the music was too intrusive on your visit and we will keep this is mind for guests going forward. Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards, Carla Kennedy Assistant Food and Beverage Director.

    Is this helpful?

  31. YeeB

    Cambridge

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 8 July 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Beautiful surroundings, efficient and friendly staff. Great place catching up with friends and family.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 1 August 2023
    Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your experience with us. Our team will be so happy to read your comments and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your friends & family back soon. Kind Regards, Carla Kennedy Assistant Food and Beverage Director

    Is this helpful?

  32. ColmR

    Dublin

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 2 June 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Super meal in a fantastic hotel with lovely staff
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 5 June 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience with us. Delighted to read your review. Thanks for choosing us every time. Warm regards, Antonio J Delgado; F&B Supervisor.

    Is this helpful?

  33. AideenM

    London

    2 reviews

    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 2 June 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    The service, from beginning to end, was frightful. There was no one at the welcome point and I stood for a long time. Drinks came at different times and then no-one around for me to pay the bill. For such a beautiful venue, this is a great shame.

    1 person found this helpful

  34. Derek75

    Orlando

    12 reviews

    3.0

    12 reviews

    Dined on 28 May 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    Not a fan of this tea service. Pros The lobby lounge is beautiful The food / tea/ champagne was delicious Cons I was seated in a room with a table of 8 having lunch so it seems the venue is mixed with lunch customers, so that took the charm out of the tea experience. I felt like I was just having a more expensive lunch than everyone else. My server did accommodate a request for more finger sandwiches- but seemed to disappear so I kept having to ask the beverage server for things. I was going to ask for another pot of tea, but my server never showed up. I had to leave my table to pay the check at the host stand. I felt forgotten in the side room. I probably wouldn’t do tea again here. I would either choose lunch with a pot of tea in the same restaurant or have tea at the nearby Westin. The Westin has a nice tea service that I would revisit if given the choice.

    Is this helpful?

  35. BackToBlonde

    Dublin

    5 reviews

    2.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 21 May 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 2
    So disappointed with our afternoon tea. Definitely not the experience we have had before. The food was fine, but nothing special nor was it as fresh as we are used to. No atmosphere in the lobby today. Service was fine, very pleasant but staff hard to find when we needed something. The lobby was by no means full but there seemed to be a lull in staff on floor, but there was plenty when we left. This is the 2nd meal I’ve had in 2 weeks at The Intercontinental and standards are definitely not as high as they used to be. It’s a real shame as the hotel is beautiful, but for the price, it’s hard to justify.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 5 June 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience with us. I am disappointed you didn’t feel our AFT was up to your expectations. We do make every single item on it fresh from scratch on the day, that’s the reason we only allowed bookings 24 hours in advance; Truly disappointed you did fell otherwise. If your ever decided to come back to our hotel, please contact us at the Lobby Lounge and we will make sure to change your point of view. Warm regards, Antonio J Delgado. F&B Supervisor.

    Is this helpful?

  36. KayM

    Dublin

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 19 May 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 5
    Waitress was so abrupt and rather rude. It ruined whole evening
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 21 May 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience with us. We are taking your feed back very seriously. We do not want our guest to feel this way and, certainly, is not what we aim for. We will contact you promptly. Warm regards, Antonio J Delgado; F&B Supervisor.

    Is this helpful?

  37. Rosie

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 12 May 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A beautiful place to sit and relax .fabulous food and great views

    Is this helpful?

  38. Peter

    Dublin

    12 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    12 reviews

    Dined on 29 April 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely as aways, very relaxing family dinner, thank you!
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 6 May 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience with us. Looking forward to see you again, and bring that extra touch we need to be great for you and your family. Warm regards, Antonio J Delgado; F&B Supervisor.

    Is this helpful?

  39. SeanR

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 29 April 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 5
    We really enjoy the experience at the Intercontinental lobby. Unfortunately our waitress on this occasion kept forgetting to come back to us following simple request , such as a jug of water and vinegar.. the last straw was giving us a dessert menu and the coffees and not coming back until we had asked another waiter to come a give us the bill after 20 mins with no show from the waitress … It was otherwise an excellent meal in lovely surroundings
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 6 May 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience with us. I am sorry we did not reach the level of our service standards with you in this occasion. I will take this matter on board personally as we do expect great service from our associates and truly, this is not what we want our guests to feel. Please, do not hesitate to contact me or any of my colleagues and we will make sure everything goes great for you. Warm regards, Antonio J Delgado; F&B Supervisor.

    Is this helpful?

  40. OpenTable Diner

    Leinster

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 29 April 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Disappointed with little choice of gluten free food and drink.
    The Lobby Lounge & The Reading RoomResponded on 6 May 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience with us. I would like to extend my apologies if we did not offer extra options gluten free, surely, we are looking to improve this matter and we will make it right very soon. Please, if you do decide to come back to us, do not hesitate to contact me or my colleagues at the Lobby Lounge, so we can make 100% sure we do deliver what you expect. Warm regards, Antonio J Delgado; F&B Supervisor.

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

The Lobby Lounge & The Reading Room is rated 4.3 stars by 185 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 4 times today
Experiences are available.
Google Map for The Lobby Lounge & The Reading Room

Simmonscourt Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin, Co Dublin D04 A9K8

Additional information

  • Cross Street
    Simmonscourt Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin, Co Dublin D04 A9K8
  • Area
    Ballsbridge
  • Hours of Operation
    Daily 10:30 am–10:00 pm
  • Price
    €31 to €50
  • Cuisines
    Lounge, Afternoon Tea, Cocktail Bar
  • Dining style
    Casual Elegant
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Parking Details
    Hotel Parking
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive Chef
    Executive Chef Alberto Rossi
  • Additional
    Gluten-free Options, Indoor Fireplace, Patio/Outdoor Dining
  • Privacy policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Impressum
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo