Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. East Sussex
  4. Rye
  5. Rye
The Mermaid Inn, Rye, East Sussex

The Mermaid Inn

4.5
4.5
1252 reviews
£26 to £40
British
Dine in the AA 2 Rosette Linen Fold Panelled Restaurant, where you can enjoy the ambience of the large restaurant, the cosiness of The Dr Syn Dining Room or the privacy of the Boardroom for your evening meal, lunch and breakfast.

Head Chef Drew King is focused on using quality, seasonal, local ingredients and cooking them perfectly. He has a broad range of experience having worked in Michelin Star restaurants. and is able to adapt to the requirements of the guest and the occasion.

Please note dogs are not allowed in the Restaurant. Bookings are for the Restaurant only. We do not reserve for The Bar and outside seating areas.


Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 11 times today

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Fine Dining
  • Price
    £26 to £40
  • Cuisines
    British, French
  • Hours of Operation
    Mon–Fri, Sun 12:00 pm–12:30 am Daily 6:00 pm–9:00 pm Sat 12:00 pm–2:30 pm
  • Phone number
    01797 223065
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Executive Chef
    Drew King
  • Private party facilities
    We can offer a range of menus to suit the occasion.We can provide a personalised service to help you plan the food and wine to ensure we can create a memorable occasionWe offer private dining in our Board Room, or our Dr Syn Dining Room and for larger functions we can seat up to 90 guests in our Tudor Room.
  • Private party contact
    Kevin Hodgen: 01797 223065
  • Area
    Rye
  • Parking Details
    Unfortunately we are unable to offer parking to our restaurant customers as our small car park is reserved for hotel guests. There are a number of alternative car parks locally, and reception will be happy to direct you to these.
  • Public Transit
    The Rye railway station and bus station are both a 5 minute walk to The Mermaid Inn.
  • Additional
    Gluten-free Options, Indoor Fireplace, Vegan

What 1,252 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.5
4.5 based on recent ratings
  • 4.4Food
  • 4.6Service
  • 4.6Ambience
  • 4.3Value

NoiseModerate

Diners' Choice Awards

  • East Sussex

    Best Ambience

  • East Sussex

    Good for business meals

  • East Sussex

    Good for business meals

  • East Sussex

    Great for fine wines

  • East Sussex

    Romantic

  • East Sussex

    Good for special occasions

  • East Sussex

    Vegetarian-friendly

  • East Sussex

    Most Booked

1,252 Reviews
  1. ColinM

    Yorkshire

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Proper traditional bar and restaurant. Really good food, friendly and attentive staff. Loved the ambience and decor.

    Is this helpful?

  2. JBurton

    New York City

    6 reviews

    4.0

    6 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    Table at 2.30pm on a Sunday, but as soon as we sat down they wanted our order as kitchen was closing! Food was ambient, although hot gravy helped heat it. We both had roast beef. No green veg! Half a carrot, half a parsnip, red cabbage and cauliflower cheese. Dinner was average. That said, the Tour of the building after was fab! Taken by the owner, she couldn’t have shown more enthusiasm and passion for the place. Very entertaining and good fun.

    Is this helpful?

  3. NatalieH

    East Sussex

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    My first time at the Mermaid inn, the food was amazing and service was really good, friendly, warm and overall beautiful place. I did the tour, so interesting and Judith’s talk on the history has you gripped and leaves you wanting more. Highly recommend the tour. I can’t wait to go back.

    Is this helpful?

  4. LauraB

    London

    8 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    8 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really enjoyed a lovely lunch at the Mermaid Inn. The staff were excellent and it is a beautiful environment. The scallops with champagne veloute were a particular favourite.

    Is this helpful?

  5. JohnB

    Brighton

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    We sat in a small room where it was lovely and quiet. Service was impeccable, the menu was very good (although fairly limited for vegetarians) and the food was well cooked and beautifully presented. We will definitely be returning!

    Is this helpful?

  6. DerVries

    Kent

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Felt very rushed to order food as soon as we arrived and were seated, we rang ahead to inform we were running 10 minutes late which didn’t go down to well, unfortunately we live 40 miles away and other commitments came up but we still attended our booking but would of been nice to have understood our late arrival and we had the decency to inform of our late arrival. We go to the mermaid a lot and have stayed a few times and we will continue to but would be nice to be a bit more accommodating with times.

    Is this helpful?

  7. CarolC

    Surrey

    4 reviews

    2.0

    4 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    A disappointing evening and meal. We chose Rye Skate wings and they were small - and therefore more difficult to cook. Ours were overcooked and were they fresh? My partner’s starter of duck tartare was miniscule. The service was amateur and not befitting of a venue with such history and promise. Had to ask for water to be topped up several times. Wouldn’t go back, sadly

    Is this helpful?

  8. OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Very friendly and helpful staff in all departments. The ambience of the bar, restaurant, lounges and bedrooms, fully reflect the age and history of The Mermaid. The choice of meals that we had in the bar and restaurant were all very good. The poached scallops were delicious. The rainy weather we experienced was not ideal for seeing Rye so The Mermaid provided a welcoming venue for us to relax in.

    Is this helpful?

  9. JohnG

    East Sussex

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A fantastic 600 year old hotel, so much history, lovely ambience and very cosy. Excellent service, well worth a visit. Dinner was slightly disappointing but acceptable!

    Is this helpful?

  10. CarlaF

    Toronto

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We had an amazing experience. High-class service and delicious food. Highly recommend it. We will be back.

    Is this helpful?

  11. Timbo

    Brighton

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Old historic building, great staff and food cooked well.

    Is this helpful?

  12. chris

    London

    109 reviews

    5.0

    109 reviews

    Dined on 18 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    We had a great Sunday lunch. One of our group was elderly and deaf and we asked for a quiet area which was a small adjoining room to the main restaurant. That was perfect. Service was very good and despite a small hitch with the dessert (a system problem that was quickly solved), we had a very pleasant time. I would definitely think of returning.

    Is this helpful?

  13. Steve

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Superb venue, a wonderfully quintzy dining room with a varied menu & friendly staff.

    Is this helpful?

  14. alanm

    London

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 14 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We really enjoyed our evening and the limited set menu appropriate for such an event. The little appetisers were excellent!

    Is this helpful?

  15. DavidH

    East Sussex

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Service was great food was great & the room was what it said on the tin.

    Is this helpful?

  16. NoeleenF

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 12 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The Mermaid Inn was a delightful experience. The service was excellent and the food was superb.

    Is this helpful?

  17. MarkS

    London

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 11 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Wonderful place, great food, huge portions and attentive, friendly service. Great value for money in a very special building.

    Is this helpful?

  18. TessF

    East Sussex

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The food was quite nice, certainly not outstanding, I chose the three course meals and I had a lobster tail with boiled potatoes and a little bit of salad on the side which was the sort of salad you’d get in a bag at a supermarket, it would have been better had it been served with green vegetables, asparagus would have been nice, so a little disappointing. My partner had the lamb which he said was delicious, but it came with no vegetables, to add those you had to pay extra, which we didn’t think was good and the portions of food are not large. The sweets were okay, I had sorbet, three scoops which were tiny, so my partner and I were not too impressed and I took him there for his birthday. The staff were lovely, very helpful and certainly knew their history regarding the hotel.

    Is this helpful?

  19. SteveM

    Kent

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 10 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Fantastic food in our favourite place.. steeped in history

    Is this helpful?

  20. Chirpy

    East Sussex

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 9 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Very welcoming staff, lovely atmosphere. Lovely food, waiters really friendly and would highly recommend!

    Is this helpful?

  21. PaulL

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 February 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 2
    Service was average had to ask twice for water etc Food was overpriced and not good quality I was up the whole night with a bad stomach

    Is this helpful?

  22. ElisOliveira

    East Sussex

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 4 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    amazing place and great service, but the food is ok, not amazing

    Is this helpful?

  23. OpenTable Diner

    London

    16 reviews

    2.0

    16 reviews

    Dined on 30 January 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Very disappointing food but the service was very good. The waiter tried his very best to make up for the poor quality food. I’m not sure there is much point in leaving this review as it seems (from previous reviews here and those on TripAdvisor) that the owner/manager just either refutes negative reviews or says everyone else enjoyed the meal. On that basis I doubt there will be a constructive response.

    Is this helpful?

  24. Terry

    East Sussex

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The Mermaid 🧜‍♀️ is a great place for Sunday roast and full of historic interest , it is warm and a friendly with a great atmosphere . Will will be returning on our next vist to Rye . Terry & Alison 👩‍❤️‍👨

    Is this helpful?

  25. JulieC

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    If you're looking for something very special and full of character, with excellent service and food, The Mermaid Inn is the perfect place to book. My only disappointment is that I couldn't book an overnight stay, as the rooms were already fully booked. Not surprising, as this restaurant and hotel is very iconic to Rye. Will definitely make a return visit.

    Is this helpful?

  26. DebJ

    East Sussex

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Fabulous . Definitely come again. Highly recommended

    Is this helpful?

  27. GrahamF

    East Sussex

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 21 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    In a word Our Meal was Excellent. The Service was Excellent. The staff were Excellent Nothing more to add but Excellent.

    Is this helpful?

  28. SallyS

    Kent

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 11 January 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great ambience. Cozy & friendly bar & restaurant. Lovely food. Really enjoyed having tea & petit fours by the fire in the lounge afterwards. Only downside is that they do not serve New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc by the glass. I did not want to drink a whole bottle & did not like the French one they did have. Unfortunately this would put me off going again or from staying overnight. If I can't have what I want to drink, I'd rather go elsewhere. Limited parking could also be an issue as its a fair walk to any alternative.

    Is this helpful?

  29. DavidR

    East Sussex

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 8 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    An outstanding restaurant- the staff were all very friendly without a fault and the food fantastic- we would definitely recommend

    Is this helpful?

  30. AnimeshB

    East Sussex

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 6 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    One of the reasons to visit Rye for two nights was the Mermaid Inn. The dinner was a special occassion and the restuarant fully met with our expectation. The canopes and overall service was excellent!

    Is this helpful?

  31. JessicaL

    London

    4 reviews

    2.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 5 January 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    The bar is worth a visit, great big fire and a lovely atmosphere. Sadly the restaurant didn’t live up to expectations, 1.5hr wait for our main course, forgetting our drinks and side order (critical considering the mains didn’t come with accompaniments).
    The Mermaid InnResponded on 7 January 2024
    Please accept our sincere apologies. We got it wrong. Please contact us so we can arrange a gesture of goodwill. Kind regards The Mermaid.

    Is this helpful?

  32. JackyS

    London

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 1 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Ambience was lovely, service was great, food was good. We had a lovely evening from the drinks in the bar before our meal, through to the coffee and petit fours in the lounge afterwards. Company was great too, which always helps!

    Is this helpful?

  33. Flamingo

    Kent

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 1 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Eating here is an absolute delight. It’s family friendly and we were seated in the small part of the restaurant, the service is so friendly and professional in the most amazing of atmospheres. It is always a pleasure joining generations and centuries worth of other delighted guests to the Mermaid. The food is outstanding and although not cheap is not the priciest either. Arrive for lunch and stay the afternoon relaxing in the lounge. Thank you again, for a wonderful start to 2024!

    Is this helpful?

  34. JudithW

    East Sussex

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Our family had a lovely lunch on New Years Eve. Food was really tasty and beautifully presented. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend

    Is this helpful?

  35. Danall

    London

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 31 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely food, great setting and excellent service!

    Is this helpful?

  36. SallyC

    Kent

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 30 December 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Only 1 meat on main course would have liked more choices so chose from bar menu. Service was fab

    Is this helpful?

  37. SusanM

    Kent

    2 reviews

    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 29 December 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Small menu & not much variety. I had cod & chips which was tasteless & soggy & chips were dry with skin on. My husband had pork loin which he said was extremely salty. Cost was £41 - with a tip £50. For a famous historic hotel was extremely disappointed.
    The Mermaid InnResponded on 3 January 2024
    Food as ever is a matter of taste. We do provide all our Menus on line so that Guests can judge prior to their visit if the Menu will suit their personal taste. This enables personal disappointment to be avoided.

    Is this helpful?

  38. PhilipJ

    East Sussex

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 29 December 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The Inn in its surroundings is absolutely stunning and a delight to experience. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful - we were half an hour late and they told us not to stress. We enjoyed our meal but because of the festive menu and our idiosyncrasies our choice for a main was very limited: onion tarte tatin which was nice but rather one- dimensional. We had a two hour drive each way (in very mixed weather) to visit the Mermaid but it was completely worth it!

    Is this helpful?

  39. AnthonyA

    East Sussex

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 28 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Beautiful surroundings and amazing food. All staff so helpful. Looking forward to going again when in Rye.

    Is this helpful?

  40. TJA2

    London

    17 reviews

    4.0

    17 reviews

    Dined on 24 December 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Went for Christmas Eve lunch. The service was impeccable (there seemed to be a couple of young newbies who aren't quite there yet, but that's understandable). However the food was a bit disappointing and arrived incredibly quickly, which suggested it had already been fished up and just microwaved. I had onion tarte tatin which was tasty, but overpriced for what it was. My companions had the roast beef which was very tough and not carved well - the slices were 1cm or more thick. To be fair, when we mentioned this the price of one of the meals was deducted from the bill, but we'd much rather have paid in full and enjoyed it. It was vaguely Christmassy in the dining room, with a few decorations. Nice to have linen tablecloth and napkins. Crackers would have been a nice addition.
    The Mermaid InnResponded on 27 December 2023
    Thank you for your review. We can only apologise for the quality of the meat, which we have discussed with our supplier. The slices of beef are as per our usual style. We do not possess a microwave. We will share your observations at our weekly managers' meeting.

    Is this helpful?

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitising

    • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

FAQs

The Mermaid Inn is rated 4.5 stars by 1252 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 11 times today
Google Map for The Mermaid Inn

Mermaid Street, Rye, East Sussex TN31 7EY

Additional information

  • Area
    Rye
  • Hours of Operation
    Mon–Fri, Sun 12:00 pm–12:30 am Daily 6:00 pm–9:00 pm Sat 12:00 pm–2:30 pm
  • Price
    £26 to £40
  • Cuisines
    British, French
  • Dining style
    Fine Dining
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Parking Details
    Unfortunately we are unable to offer parking to our restaurant customers as our small car park is reserved for hotel guests. There are a number of alternative car parks locally, and reception will be happy to direct you to these.
  • Public Transit
    The Rye railway station and bus station are both a 5 minute walk to The Mermaid Inn.
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive Chef
    Drew King
  • Additional
    Gluten-free Options, Indoor Fireplace, Vegan
  • Phone number
    01797 223065
  • Private party facilities
    We can offer a range of menus to suit the occasion.We can provide a personalised service to help you plan the food and wine to ensure we can create a memorable occasionWe offer private dining in our Board Room, or our Dr Syn Dining Room and for larger functions we can seat up to 90 guests in our Tudor Room.
  • Private party contact
    Kevin Hodgen: 01797 223065
  • Privacy policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
Rentalcars Logo
OpenTable Logo