Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. Australia
  3. Sydney
  4. Inner South
  5. Alexandria

The Potting Shed

4.3
4.3
2648 reviews
$A40 and under
Modern Australian
The Potting Shed is a place to meet, eat, drink, relax and chat your day and night away – where hanging plants, terracotta pots and timber beams meet brass, brick and iron. Where you can plant yourself down on the swing seat, bench or at the bar and feel like you are on your family’s porch. It’s a lively place where you can hoe into fresh, locally harvested produce, delivered by our shed-hands. The same hands that will deliver you good-natured banter, craft beers on tap, great tasting wines and unique cocktails. The menu offers cozy share options for groups, three course substantial meal choices for those wanting to make an evening of it and a fun selection of nibbles for people wanting a light after-work snack with their cocktails or a share jug amongst friends.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 141 times today
Experiences are available.

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    Modern Australian

  • Hours of Operation

    Mon–Fri 11:30 am–9:00 pm Sat 11:00 am–9:30 pm Sun 11:00 am–9:00 pm

  • Phone number

    (02) 9699 2225

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress Code

    Smart Casual

  • Executive Chef

    Paul McGrath

  • Catering

    From client meetings to personal celebrations, our drop-off catering menu offers a selection of sweet and savoury options that can be combined to achieve the perfect offering for your occasion. Order online <a href="https://thegroundscatering.com.au/">here</a>.

  • Area

    Alexandria

  • Cross Street

    41-43 Bourke Rd, Alexandria, AU-NSW 2015

  • Parking Details

    To park at The Grounds, please enter via 2 Huntley Street and speak with one of our friendly Grounds Rangers who are on hand to help you find the closest available space. Alternatively, street parking is also available.

  • Public Transit

    The nearest station is Green Square, on the T8 Airport &amp; South Line, with frequent services to and from Central station and the CBD. The Grounds is located a 10-15 minute walk down Bourke Road from Green Square. St Peters station (on the T3 Bankstown Line) is also a 20-30 minute walk away.<br /> <br />Bus route 348 (Randwick to Wolli Creek via Green Square) and Bus route 305 (Mascot Stamford Hotel to Redfern via Waterloo) stops outside the restaurant.<br /> <br />Route updates, timetables and travel information are available at www.transportnsw.info, or real-time travel apps.

  • Additional

    Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Experiences

  • Date Night Romantic Table Setting

    A$7.50 per person

    Prepaid

    Multiple dates available
    Show them you care with a romantic table in The Potting Shed, complete with a candlestick and a beautiful red rose which you can keep at the end of your meal! Please note that no food or drinks are included in this package, but can be purchased from the menu on the day.
  • Add Christmas Joy to your table....

    A$8.00 per person

    Prepaid

    2 Dec - 24 Dec 2022
    Add some sparkle to your dining experience this December at The Potting Shed by adding festive table decor. Included: Bonbon per person & Christmas Floral arrangement.

Popular dishes

What 2,648 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.3
4.3 based on recent ratings
  • 4.1Food
  • 4.1Service
  • 4.5Ambience
  • 3.9Value

NoiseEnergetic

Diners' Choice Awards

  • Sydney

    Most Booked

  • Inner South

    Best Overall

  • Inner South

    Best Food

  • Inner South

    Best Service

  • Inner South

    Best Ambiance

  • Inner South

    Best Value

  • Inner South

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. t

    tamers

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall2food2service3ambience5
    I paid 15$ for a Birthday experience nothing was different then the normal dining experience
  2. SB

    SiobhanB

    San Diego

    25 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    25 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall3food3service2ambience3
    Out of lots of dishes and service was not good.
  3. d

    darren

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was amazing and the service was great. Our waitress made sure our date night perfect and our glasses never empty
  4. B

    Bfoodie12344858595958494

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall3food3service2ambience5
    Paid for the experience with the lite candle and rose, thought we would be in more of a private area rather than sat between 2 big groups with not much space. Candle went out after 2-3 minutes, asked the waitress to re light it which she never did, not worth the extra money. Food was good nothing special the menu could have had better options as a lot of food was also sold out. Mainly went for the Christmas experience which was really good but wouldn’t be rushing back for food again.
  5. T

    Thatsdaniellaaaa

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Very nice and staff are accomodating. Amazing decorations for Christmas that everyone would enjoy. Instagramable
  6. MP

    MariaP

    Sydney

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall2food1service5ambience2
    Food is normally great , this time around the food was below average. Squid was very dry and the ribs were overcooked and dry, place was very full and seems they couldnt keep up with the presentation
  7. LH

    LouiseH

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food4service4ambience4
    Had a lovely visit.. although my daughter burnt her hand on the cast iron pot her lunch was served in .. might be worth looking at alternative to serving in this type of pot Otherwise beautiful place to visit Thank you Louise
  8. C

    Carmelina

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    What an awesome vibrant place... My daughter an I make a habit to pop down every few months and indulge in the awesome food .... Always such a great selection, and they are able to accomodate a GF variety or meals.. then we love to walk through the Grounds to see their latest display
  9. d

    drlulu

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Amazing experience with scrumptious food and friendly vibe. Our waiter, Acts, was superb, very friendly and professional...the manager and him made sure my little girl was treated like a princess and accommodated my requests to make her night feel special.
  10. VT

    VicT

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Very happy with the food. Staff very friendly and helpful.
  11. D

    Daniel

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall2food2service1ambience5
    Unfortunately the service wasn’t the best at all, the laneway was the only reason we went
  12. PR

    PhilipR

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    The potting shed was a great venue for a family birthday . We all had a wonderful time and all the food we ordered was enthusiastically finished. We would recommend .
  13. LT

    LisaT

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Beautiful tasty food, amazing cocktails, great service and fabulous ambience. My first visit here but it won't be my last. Looking forward to returning soon.
  14. B

    Becky

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined 6 days ago

    overall1food1service4ambience3
    The mains were not appetising, everything had eggplant including the kid’s pasta. The mains had no seasoning and was bland and acidic because of the tomatoes. The Risotto was undercooked, no seasoning again, the burger was served as a sandwich with bread that was burnt and not a bun. Very disappointed.
  15. P

    Patt

    Sydney

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 6 days ago

    overall3food2service4ambience5
    I ate here before a few months ago and the food was excellent. Yesterday the food was less than average. Small portions, partly overcooked and plain. Lovely place, I hope they get back to being brilliant.
  16. LW

    LindaW

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great atmosphere. Love the garnishes, cocktails and overall decor
  17. J

    Johnathon

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall5food4service4ambience5
    Very beautiful setting with lots of greenery. Food portion was a bit too small for my liking but the service was attentive and kind. It Was not too loud and we could have a nice conversation with out straining to hear or shouting. We had a great time overall.
  18. SD

    SamD

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall4food4service5ambience5
    We had a lovely lunch at The Potting Shed. The wait staff were very helpful and attentive and the booking process was simple and easy. Food was delicious however we had to wait for over 45 minutes for food after ordering.
  19. EH

    ErikaH

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 29 November 2022

    overall4food2service5ambience5
    I loved all the decorations. But foods are bit disappointing as price.
  20. LS

    LaurenS

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 29 November 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    All area was amazing staff were very professional enjoyed our time. Definitely coming back
  21. VW

    VeronicaW

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 29 November 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Delicious lunch, great atmosphere we really enjoyed our lunch
  22. LS

    LibbyS

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 November 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience4
    My husband and I came to the Potting Shed for two reasons. Firstly, 28/11/22 marked our 30th Wedding Anniversary. I looked up romantic restaurants on the internet and The Grounds were rated in the Top 10. Well this was perfect because coincidentally our son began working at The Grounds, this same day in the Catering Division. We opted for a late lunch so that we could give him a lift home if he wanted at 4.00pm. The ambiance was delightful, I felt like I was sitting in a rainforest and the staff were very attentive. I thought the use of terracotta pots and shovels very clever and quite a novelty (fun). Unfortunately, my lunch didn't show up. I don't believe it was our waitress's error as she repeated back our order to us and I saw it written on her iPad so we assume something went wrong in the kitchen. My husband's burger arrived and he sat and waited for my meal to turn up. It didn't, so I told him to start before his meal went cold. We grabbed our waitress's attention and she went off to find my meal returning to say that it was on its way. My husband finished his meal and as mine had still not arrived we got the Maitre'd's attention and she too went off to look for my meal. The staff were very apologetic for the delay. (About 20mins after my husbands meal arrived). We were told my meal would be free and a young man offered us drinks - his shout. My husband asked for a cappuccino and I had a hot chocolate. The coffee was cold and the hot chocolate was only a little warmer. The coffee was replaced. Not in a hurry, we decided to have dessert. These were delicious. I felt embarrassed by the time we made our second complaint. I don't know what experience I was hoping to have at the Potting Shed. 30 years of marriage felt, worthwhile celebrating. I believe I feel a sense of loss and unfortunately a free meal cannot compensate for that. Of course I will be back. My son works there now. Teach him well.
  23. JF

    JoFoodie

    Washington DC

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 November 2022

    overall2food1service3ambience4
    Much of their menu was unavailable and ‘the rose and candlelight’ extra bit was a complete waste of money. Do not get duped. Overall disappointing.
  24. OF

    OliviaF

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 November 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    We had a lovely time, they set out the rose and candle Upon request we were also a bit early and they were more than happy to accommodate us we only had to wait a few minutes. Great food, excellent service, beautiful restaurant!

    The Potting ShedResponded on 29 November 2022Dear Olivia, I am so pleased to see such a great rating. Thank you for this. I will look forward to your next visit so we can leave you wanting to award a 5*! Have a great day :) Kindest regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  25. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 November 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Was blown away by the setting absolutely stunning , the food and cocktails were amazing and the Christmas theme was beautiful

    The Potting ShedResponded on 29 November 2022Hi there Thank you for taking the time to leave us a glowing 5* rating - this is hugely appreciated! Looking forward to seeing you next time, until then have a wonderful day. Kindest regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  26. L

    Lucy

    Canberra

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 27 November 2022

    overall4food3service5ambience4
    Food is overpriced with not much on the plate. I have the fish and chips for $30, 2 small pieces of fish with the smallest handful of chips.

    The Potting ShedResponded on 29 November 2022Dear Lucy, I am so sorry to read that you were underwhelmed on your last visit. The fish and chips is a best seller for us so I am sorry you were unlucky! I would like to find a way to make things up to you, if you would like to book directly with me next you plan to visit I can ensure we redeem ourselves. Have a wonderful day and I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  27. EV

    ErinV

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 November 2022

    overall2food2service1ambience3
    Went to order to be told 3 of the sides we wanted were no longer on the menu. They were options for our vegetarian guests and not having replacements on the menu made ordering extremely limited. These should have been noted as no longer being available on the menu online as we probably would not have gone here for dinner knowing things were discontinued.

    The Potting ShedResponded on 29 November 2022Hi Erin, I am so sorry to read that we missed the mark on your last visit. We recently added a selection of food specials to make up for a few of of the discontinued items while we undergo our seasonal menu change. I am sincerely sorry that theses items were not made clear to you when you dined with us. If you would like to message me directly, I would like to find a way to make it up to you. Look forward to your reply. Kind regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  28. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 25 November 2022

    overall3food3service4ambience3
    Wine list is poor. Wine was terrible and no choice really
  29. JK

    JohnK

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 25 November 2022

    overall3food4service4ambience3
    After the 10 minute parking expedition, we were shown to a table too close to 2 young girls. Chairs were uncomfortable but service and food was fine, except for the odd language problem – this always amazes me as to how wait service staff can get a job without speaking the language properly. The main course arrived before we finished the entree which was not commendable, we were told it was because it was fish! I had this place recommended by my daughter for a reunion with a friend visiting from Europe whom I have not seen for many years. Overall we enjoyed it, but there were some drawbacks. Not sure I would return.
  30. YN

    YuliaN

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 23 November 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience3
    Thank you very much for a good time. Amazing place for a good dinner

    The Potting ShedResponded on 29 November 2022Dear Yulia, I am so pleased to see such a great rating. Thank you for this. I will look forward to your next visit so we can leave you wanting to award a 5*! Have a great day :) Kindest regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  31. XX

    XXXa

    Los Angeles

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 23 November 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Our waitress Olivia (I think???) was absolutely fabulous, so friendly, welcoming and professional, thank you!!!

    The Potting ShedResponded on 29 November 2022Thanks so much for your great rating and lovely comments on your waitress Olivia - I will be sure to pass on the praise which I'm sure she will be thrilled to read! Have a wonderful day and I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  32. RT

    RobynT

    Sydney

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 23 November 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is pricey but tasty. It's quite noisy and it is a good idea to ask for a shady table as it can be very hot under the roof. Make sure you find out about the off street parking. A lovely spot for lunch.

    The Potting ShedResponded on 29 November 2022Dear Robyn, I am so pleased to see such a great rating. Thank you for this. I will look forward to your next visit so we can leave you wanting to award a 5*! Have a great day :) Kindest regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  33. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 22 November 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Delicious food Beautiful restaurant Amazing Christmas display Great service

    The Potting ShedResponded on 29 November 2022A huge thanks for giving us 5* across the board! I am thrilled to read that you had a magical time at The Potting Shed I look forward to welcoming you next time, until then have a wonderful day! Kindest regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  34. V

    Vane

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 21 November 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Beautiful place, friendly staff and very professionals looking after customers, I took my disabled niece to celebrate her 49th birthday and they took care of everything including accomodate her with her scooter and singing happy birthday .

    The Potting ShedResponded on 22 November 2022Thank you so much Vane for such a wonderful review and beautiful comments, I am thrilled to read that your niece had a great Birthday - we are so pleased to have been able to help you celebrate. I look forward to seeing you next visit. Have a wonderful rest of the week. Kind regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  35. ON

    OutNabout

    Sydney

    12 reviews

    4.0

    12 reviews

    Dined on 20 November 2022

    overall4food1service1ambience1
    4 stars for my SELF-SERVICE🤩 - ranging from ordering & paying for my drink & meal at the cashier counter to getting a cleaner glass to replace the one presented to me with a thumbprint near the rim. Suggest setting up QR code for customers to order at their tables if your staff are not happy to serve small groups. 🙂 I don’t comprehend why the female staff made me hang around the entrance & be exposed to the sun for 20 mins. Is turning up 15 mins earlier for my booking an offence to her? After watching so many customers walking in the Potting Shed, I was then given a table behind the ‘reception’ which was unoccupied all along! Food was surprisingly disappointing this visit. A few of the mussels I ordered was undercooked.

    The Potting ShedResponded on 21 November 2022Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback, this is a great tool for us in improving service and standards. I am so sorry to hear that you had a below par experience and was hoping you could message back with your contact details so that I can understand a little further what happened and work out a way to make it up to you. Looking forward to your reply. Kind regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  36. A

    Annie

    Northern Territ

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 November 2022

    overall5food4service4ambience5
    Great ambience. Gorgeous set up. Menu a bit limited for vegetarians. Service was great. Loved the themed location and drinks

    The Potting ShedResponded on 21 November 2022Hi Annie, Thank you for a fabulous rating and for your comments. I am looking forward to your next visit where I hope you will walk away wanting to give 5*'s across all categories! Have a wonderful week Kind regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  37. NN

    NikiN

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 November 2022

    overall2food1service2ambience2
    The food was absolutely gross. We have been many times but this time will be out last. The lamb tasted like boiled water, the salad was old, the max and cheese inedible. The cocktails are just terrible. Stick to classic guys. Stop making us pay $20 for drinks that are too disgusting to drink. $200 later and go Harry Cafe De Wheels on the way home. NEVER AGAIN!

    The Potting ShedResponded on 21 November 2022Dear Niki, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so sorry to hear that you didn't have the best of times on your last visit with us. It is really unusual for us to have critique on some of the items you listed in your comments so I feel as though you were unlucky and we missed the mark this time. If you contact me directly, I would love to find a way to make it up to you. Kind regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  38. LM

    LeanneM

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 November 2022

    overall2food3service4ambience5
    I didn't order food so please disregard that answer. We met for a pre dinner drink (we were heading to an awards night, so we only had 1.5 Hours ) I waited 25 minutes for 1 glass of prosecco which I ordered via table service. My friend arrived late and ordered from the bar and got his beer straight away. everything seemed a bit disorganised and waiting that long for my first arrival drink is not great. But the service staff did their best.

    The Potting ShedResponded on 21 November 2022Leanne, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your constructive comments. I will certainly do a little investigating as to why you had a delay in drink arrival. I hope next time you visit you agree that this was an unlucky one off. Have a wonderful day. Kind regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  39. BM

    BronM

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 November 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Absolutely beautiful setting amazing service food and cocktails Incredible setting easy to get to easy to book

    The Potting ShedResponded on 21 November 2022A huge thanks Bron for giving us 5* across the board! I am thrilled to read that you had a magical time at The Potting Shed and for your lovely comments on the setting, food and cocktails. I look forward to welcoming you next time, until then have a wonderful day! Kindest regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

  40. JM

    JackM

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 November 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    From the get go my fiancé and myself had an absolute blast…we were greeted by extremely articulated waiters & waitresses who were kind. The service was extremely fast and in depth with regards to the food and drinks menu was super handy. Would definitely recommend to anyone that wants to go on a date with their loved one!

    The Potting ShedResponded on 19 November 2022Hi Jack, I am so pleased to see a 5* review so thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great rating! So much joy reading your comments and I am thrilled you and your fiancé (many congratulations!!) had a blast. Looking forward to seeing you next time, until then have a wonderful day. Kindest regards, David | Assistant Venue Manager

FAQs

The Potting Shed is rated 4.3 stars by 2648 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 141 times today
Experiences are available.
Google Map for The Potting Shed

41/43 Bourke Rd, Alexandria, AU-NSW 2015

Additional information

  • Cross Street

    41-43 Bourke Rd, Alexandria, AU-NSW 2015

  • Area

    Alexandria

  • Hours of Operation

    Mon–Fri 11:30 am–9:00 pm Sat 11:00 am–9:30 pm Sun 11:00 am–9:00 pm

  • Cuisines

    Modern Australian

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress Code

    Smart Casual

  • Parking Details

    To park at The Grounds, please enter via 2 Huntley Street and speak with one of our friendly Grounds Rangers who are on hand to help you find the closest available space. Alternatively, street parking is also available.

  • Public Transit

    The nearest station is Green Square, on the T8 Airport & South Line, with frequent services to and from Central station and the CBD. The Grounds is located a 10-15 minute walk down Bourke Road from Green Square. St Peters station (on the T3 Bankstown Line) is also a 20-30 minute walk away. Bus route 348 (Randwick to Wolli Creek via Green Square) and Bus route 305 (Mascot Stamford Hotel to Redfern via Waterloo) stops outside the restaurant. Route updates, timetables and travel information are available at www.transportnsw.info, or real-time travel apps.

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Executive Chef

    Paul McGrath

  • Additional

    Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

  • Phone number

    (02) 9699 2225

  • Catering

    From client meetings to personal celebrations, our drop-off catering menu offers a selection of sweet and savoury options that can be combined to achieve the perfect offering for your occasion. Order online <a href="https://thegroundscatering.com.au/">here</a>.

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo