The Yard Kitchen/Bar
Had a fabulous afternoon tea here with my friend. Food was lovely, staff were really friendly, excellent quality for money. We had loads to eat.
We made a reservation and arrived to chaos so we hunted downs server to see if we could seat ourselves.
The restaurant management does not seem to be doing their jobs-not enough servers and servers not trained well. The server did not know the menu well-could not answer basic questions.
We ordered and the food took forever to arrive. One of the meals was missing altogether and several of the sides were missing.
There was no offer for comped food but since we had waited so long,we didn’t want to risk waiting 30 plus minutes for the rest of our meals. My husband gave our friend half of his burger and fries.
We are accustomed to being given some kind of compensation when such egregious errors are made but this was not the case.
When I went to pay (finally walked up to ask for the bill and paid there because we could afford another long wait), we had been charged for a burger, drink, and salad we had not received.
This was a disappointing experience and I would not recommend this restaurant.
All the breakfast and dinners were excellent. The presentation and food preparation are second to none. The dinners were as good as any 5 star restaurant in major cities.
Had a wonderful meal at the The Yard Kitchen. The food was mouth watering. Fabulous service.
We wanted to get a bite after a performance, so it was quite late when we arrived. Due to the hour, I guess, there was a DJ spinning music that was quite loud, making it difficult to have a conversation. Didn’t seem like anyone was really there for the music, but they were insistent that the volume stay high. Otherwise, service was terrific.
the service was lovely and the hotel itself is very nice but the afternoon tea was not good at all. the scones and the sweets were fine but the middle section was terrible. the edge of the breads were slightly hard, like it was sitting there for a while. the tomato in the filling was old. the focaccia was dry. would not recommend this hotel for afternoon tea.
Dear Louise, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent AT experience. I was disappointed to read that your experience was not entirely positive on this occasion, for which I apologise. Its unfortunate that you did not make us aware of your dissatisfaction at the time as we would have done our utmost to rectify any issues you had as we would not wish for any guest to leave our hotel unhappy. Thank you for your kind words on our staff. Regards Maura O'Donnell, General Manager