This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitising, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn More.

The Yard Kitchen/Bar

3.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
6 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary European

Top tags:

Casual
Pre/post Theatre
The name, The Yard draws inspiration from the original roots of Brennan’s Yard and it’s Galway tribal heritage. The Yard Kitchen / Bar brings back to life a name which is steeped in history, located in the heart of the Latin Quarter in Galway City Centre.

Perfect for an intimate gathering, a catch-up with friends, special occasion, or a trendy lunch spot, the menu offers an array of daring flavours and exquisite presentation whether it be for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

The menu is designed to graze over a drink or two and relax in a friendly atmosphere. A space to connect in person and virtually, with the comfort to work or play.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Clean menu provided to every guest
  • Contactless payment available
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
What 6 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.5based on recent ratings
4.0
Food
3.6
Service
3.6
Ambience
4.0
Value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
TM
ThereseM
Galway
1 review
Dined on 28 October 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Had a fabulous afternoon tea here with my friend. Food was lovely, staff were really friendly, excellent quality for money. We had loads to eat.

PH
vipPaulaH
Atlanta
11 reviews
Dined on 27 October 2019
Overall2Food4Service2Ambience4

We made a reservation and arrived to chaos so we hunted downs server to see if we could seat ourselves.

The restaurant management does not seem to be doing their jobs-not enough servers and servers not trained well. The server did not know the menu well-could not answer basic questions.

We ordered and the food took forever to arrive. One of the meals was missing altogether and several of the sides were missing.

There was no offer for comped food but since we had waited so long,we didn’t want to risk waiting 30 plus minutes for the rest of our meals. My husband gave our friend half of his burger and fries.

We are accustomed to being given some kind of compensation when such egregious errors are made but this was not the case.

When I went to pay (finally walked up to ask for the bill and paid there because we could afford another long wait), we had been charged for a burger, drink, and salad we had not received.

This was a disappointing experience and I would not recommend this restaurant.

N
Nate
Seattle
2 reviews
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

All the breakfast and dinners were excellent. The presentation and food preparation are second to none. The dinners were as good as any 5 star restaurant in major cities.

GM
GrainneM
Galway
3 reviews
Dined on 23 July 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Had a wonderful meal at the The Yard Kitchen. The food was mouth watering. Fabulous service.

BM
vipBigMo
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on 20 July 2019
Overall3Food4Service5Ambience3

We wanted to get a bite after a performance, so it was quite late when we arrived. Due to the hour, I guess, there was a DJ spinning music that was quite loud, making it difficult to have a conversation. Didn’t seem like anyone was really there for the music, but they were insistent that the volume stay high. Otherwise, service was terrific.

LC
LouiseC122
1 review
Dined on 26 May 2019
Overall2Food1Service4Ambience3

the service was lovely and the hotel itself is very nice but the afternoon tea was not good at all. the scones and the sweets were fine but the middle section was terrible. the edge of the breads were slightly hard, like it was sitting there for a while. the tomato in the filling was old. the focaccia was dry. would not recommend this hotel for afternoon tea.

The Yard Kitchen/Bar
Responded on 1 June 2019

Dear Louise, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent AT experience. I was disappointed to read that your experience was not entirely positive on this occasion, for which I apologise. Its unfortunate that you did not make us aware of your dissatisfaction at the time as we would have done our utmost to rectify any issues you had as we would not wish for any guest to leave our hotel unhappy. Thank you for your kind words on our staff. Regards Maura O'Donnell, General Manager

Report

FAQs

The Yard Kitchen/Bar is rated 3.5 stars by 6 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.