Union Café - Mount Merrion
Our Head Chef, Darren Matthews, has created an innovative menu that brings together old world flavours and contemporary international cuisines.
Each and every plate is packed with fresh, honest, tasty food, created with the very best Irish produce.
Try one of our juicy homemade burgers, wood fired pizzas, fresh pastas, fish specials and much more.
We’re open seven days a week, serving hearty and healthy breakfasts from nine in the morning and in the evening, we offer a beautifully crafted dinner menu until ten. Enjoy a great lunch Monday through Friday, and at the weekend come and relax in our comfortable new booths to enjoy a fresh cooked brunch and crafted cocktails or a bottle of wine with family and friends.
Poached Eggs & Grilled Plum Tomato on Sourdough
Food was below average. Staff very attentive. Just the food was below average.
Lovely staff accommodated is even we were a bit late. Helped with kids and looked after us very well.
Lovely place, I think it is going to become my new haunt.
Buttermilk chicken on the burger not as big as it used to be. Skimping on the portions.
Great food at lunch time in very relaxed environment
Great place to meet friends. Lovely staff. Very safe place to meet.
Very pleasant occasion, highly recommended. Service was prompt and friendly, food was excellent.
The food was very poor quality - greasy & over cooked. The waitress was very good but bookings were very quiet so not her toughest night at work. Her manager was very rude to her & to us, pushing her to get us to leave & finish shortly after 10 when we arrived at 8. I would not recommend this restaurant - they could have made a much better effort to be more welcoming given the low numbers present but it was clear each course was rushed and they wanted to close. No love or passion in the food presented.
All good, food good service very good - happy to recommend
Monthly visitors, our experience at the weekend was very poor, food not at a decent standard, chips tasted reheated and wrong order brought out. Wont be going back.
Worth a drive out from center city Dublin...really cute family friendly place with great food. The bar area is well designed and fun. The waitresses were all very friendly and efficient. Really liked the burgers. Hard to find an american style burger in this area ... these are great! Lots of choices of food for everyone. Lover the little front bakery and coffeeshop...yum.
Hey Foodfinder! Lovely to read such a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to post it. I'll spread the word to the team throughout the building and we'll keep up the good work. Hope you'll visit us again soon. Best, Aimee.
Another great meal
Thanks for the great review kitty!
Was delighted to have booked a table. However stale crossiants is just not good enough
Hi Louise, Thank you for your review. You're right, stale pastries aren't good enough. I'll make sure to pass along your feedback to the deli team. We hope to have you with us again soon. Best regards, Dave
Good food and service
Hi Delmar! Thanks so much for the great rating and review! Hope to see you in again soon Best Dave
Table not great, a bit to the side and away from the main restaurant. Food mixed. Service really poor, pleasant staff but slow and had to be reminded about requests.
Hi ElmaK, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am sorry your visit did not meet your expectations and please be assured we have taken your comments on board. My hope is that you have not been deterred from another visit with us. If you would like to discuss further please feel free to contact me at email@example.com. Many thanks Dave
Disappointed as it was overshadowed by the fact that the manager without being asked presented the bill to the table at about 10:10pm and said he needed to close off his machine. That was the first time that has ever happened and could have been handled so different, by even asking, would you mind if brought over the bill etc etc but it was just blonked on the table.
All local to area so it definitely left a sting with us all.
Hi CharlesM, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, feedback, especially from our local customers is valued extremely highly by us here at Union Cafe Mount Merrion. We pride ourselves on our standards of customers service which is why I find your comments quite alarming. Please be assured the matter is being addressed and I am confident a repeat experience is unlikely. If you would like to discuss further please feel free tom contact me at firstname.lastname@example.org, Kind regards Dave
Had a nice Xmas Brunch . Nice food and nice staff. I would go back again.
Hi jinks101, Thanks for the positive feedback. Hope to have you with us again soon. Best, Aimee.
Really nice setting
€3 for tea is very expensive
Only x1 slice of toast for breakfast would have liked two
Hi Katieh, Thanks for the great feedback, much appreciated. Have passed on your pricing/toast points to the relevant people and we take all feedback seriously. Hope to have you back with us again soon. Best, Aimee.
Steaks were really good
Brilliant! Have passed that on to our Head Chef and his team. Thanks for the review, Aimee.
Staff were lovely. Good value for money. Food was well presented. Lovely greeting at the door. Had diner and breakfast there. Will return.
Lovely Suddsy, great to hear the effort is noticed. We are delighted with your review and will pass it on to the team to keep it up. See you back here soon we hope, Aimee.
We had a lovely meal here on Sunday, we were looked after by a manager Katie and she was nothing short of excellent. She was very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. All of us enjoyed our food and service was very quick despite the place being busy. The events put on for kids for the day were a really nice touch and my son had a great time. Would definitely recommend and will definitely be back!
Hi Linda, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. It sounds like the face painter and cookie decorating was a kit with your gang. Please do recommend us - we would love that. Thanks again, Aimee.
Staff were amazing !
Organised a bday cake the week before .. and the staff all came out and made it that special .
Thanks a mill.
Hi C, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review. We're delighted we could help make the Birthday so special. Hope to have you and the gang back again soon for more celebrations. Best, Aimee.
We went as a family for a family birthday. Food and service was excellent. I had put a note that it was granny’s birthday on the booking and the staff came over after our meal with a birthday cake singing happy birthday. A lovely touch. Thank you x
Hi Samantha, Thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We absolutely love having families in to celebrate such important occasions and get a huge kick out of giving great service to such a lovely group. We hope to have you back with us again soon. Best, Aimee.
I visit union cafe in church town regularly so we expected the same level of high standard but sadly it doesn’t live up to the mark .The portion sizes were smaller .The food was poorly presented and my own dish was cold .The burger bun felt like it had been in the fridge !
Hi OrlaR, Thank you for your constructive feedback, please be assured the concerns you have raised are being addressed by our kitchen management team so as to ensure consistency across our brand. Please feel free to provide a few details like date. time, items purchased etc. to us at email@example.com, so we can look in to it in more depth. My sincere hope is that you have not been deterred from another visit with us here in Mount Merrion, Kind regards Dave
Unfortunately, it did not live up to expectations. At first we were seated next to children who where screaming so incredibly loudly it was crazy, almost as if they were having a screaming competition. Not the restaurants fault, but we had to ask to move as the parents thought their children screeching was ok. Once we moved it improved but everyone around us was waiting a long time for drinks - ours arrived cold. However, food arrived quite fast. My Irish breakfast was tasty but quite pricey (and if I am being picky, soda bread is a bit odd to have with it, regular toast would be much better) and my partner's "buttermilk pancakes with crispy bacon and maple syrup" were very bland - pancakes with definitely not crispy bacon on the side with syrup in a plastic bottle, with quite a high price tag.
Hi Emilie, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am sorry to read of your cold drinks and of the loud atmosphere at the time of your visit. Please feel free to mail us at firstname.lastname@example.org with a few more details so I can investigate the reasons in more depth and ensure a repeat occurrence does not happen again. Be assured I have passed on your feedback concerning the food to the kitchen management team whom I know are taking it into consideration. Best, Dave
Nice place and friendly staff. The food was nice, good portions, and not pricey.
Hi, Many thank for your rating and review. I have passed your feedback on to the team who were delighted to read it! We hope to see you in again with us in the near future. Warm regards Dave
Can we try not knock it down ? That would be nice
Hi, Thank you for your feedback, Regards Dave
For evening dining it’s not great, lighting way too bright and not good atmosphere, very quiet . Waiter wasn’t great just plonked drinks down on edge of table didn’t hand them out. Handy location next to the pub though
Hi Grabar71 Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your visit with us last night. Please be assured we are taking the concerns you have raised on board and will make every effort to address. Much appreciated Dave
Went we went for a romantic meal and it didn’t look like a restaurant Evening .... no candles or knife and fork’s on the table I wine glasses
I just like a brunch place for the day lovely evening .
So we walked out
HI David72, Thank you for your review. Please be assured we take all feedback very seriously and we view it an opportunity to improve our guests experience. In the evening we do not put candles or wine glasses on the tables as we provide the glass with the wine as ordered. I am quite alarmed to read that there was no cutlery on the table however, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you again and my sincere hope is that you might visit us again in the future, Warm regards Dave
Its a shame the food isnt better. It is a nice location and the staff were ok. I had what was described as a southern fried chicken burger but it was very disappointing. My mums sirloin was the worse steak weve ever had in a restaurant. I suppose the amount of empty tables at peak time saturday night tells the story.
Hi NealE, Thanks for leaving a review, and we are sorry your food wasn't up to scratch. We take the feedback seriously had have passed this onto the Kitchen. We hope you might come back and have a better experience as we have put great effort into making improvements here. Thanks, Aimee.
Waited 45 mins for a lunch order. Very disorganized
Not recommended for lunch unless you have plenty of time
Staff ever so friendly and kind. Thanks
We went for lunch and the menu had great choices.We had a little girl and she got colours and paper to keep her busy.
Hi EllenB, Thank you for your feedback, hope we will see you back soon. Vladimir
The venue was very loud with a lot of children running around. The food was nice but not at the same standard as the Beacon restaurant.
Dear MaryN Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent visit. We are a child friendly restaurant and with the park & playground directly across the street we do get a lot of little visitors with their families. I'm happy you enjoyed the food, and my colleagues in The Beacon will be very glad to hear you say they beat us on standards this time round. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Fiona
Miniscule steak in the cold steak sandwich. Pity as the service was good.
Dear NH12 We appreciate getting feedback on food and service here at Union Cafe. As your waitress got you a new Steak Sandwich and a complimentary pint to wash it down with, we hoped this might have made up for the below-standards sandwich. We do weigh every steak at 6oz but will pass on your feedback to the kitchen and hope to see you again soon. Fiona
Overpriced food - empty restaurant but took 40 mins to serve us, a small group.
Dear JaSS Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to Union Cafe. I am sorry to hear it took 40minutes to serve, we had an unexpected busy weekend, usually Easter would be a quiet time for us. This is not the service that we strive to achieve here and for this I apologise. Although the restaurant may have looked empty, we had 32 full tables of people sitting outside in the sunny weather also ordering food & drinks. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Fiona
Family friendly atmosphere but service was too slow with small children. There were plenty of servers but food was lukewarm when it finally got to the table.
Dear CCR19 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit. I apologise that the service was slow on the day you visited us and hope you brought it to the attention of the manager on duty who would have dealt with this immediately. This is not the standard service we aim to provide and hope that we can prove this to you if you give us another chance. Hope to welcome you back sometime soon. Fiona
I was meeting some friends in the area, so we all met up for lunch. Two of us ordered the lasagne, and both lasagnes arrived half-filling a metal dish - which looked odd, but they hadn't apologised for anything, so we assumed that this was standard. The lasagne itself was not great, but the main issue was that the lasagne is normally an entire dish (confirmed by a friend who ordered one for lunch two days later and sent us a photo of it filling the dish). So the Union Cafe split single a lasagne between two of us without telling us. Disgraceful behaviour.
Dear mixtwitch Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to Union Cafe. I am sorry that the food you had ordered didn't meet your expectations. We have currently changed a few items on our menu and I can assure you we would not cut portions in half as we have strict serving portions. If you would like to send me an email directly I can look into this matter further. I will await your email and hope to hear from you soon email@example.com Fiona
Happy to recommend as food was very tasty and fresh. Very expensive for what it was though. Service was a bit slow which was a surprise given that it wasn't all that busy when we were there.
Dear EoinM Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit to Union Cafe. I'm sorry to hear the service was a little slow and I am currently looking into why this was. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the food and we hope to welcome you back again sometime soon. Fiona
Union Café - Mount Merrion is rated 4.1 stars by 99 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.